Non acceptance of donation from a donor
Vijaya Bhaskar
(Querist) 15 February 2015
Dear experts.we as a charitable organisation can we say no or non accept to the donation from a regular donor who is donating for more than 10 years..recently we had encountered with donor's daughter for not considering her request to sell the product which are not in our catalogue and which is unethical ..donor's daughter communicated to her father with false accusation on male manager. now the father would like to give a complaint against the manager and sue him a criminal case which is untrue.. however the manager has submitted an incident report to the organisation and also others who were present at the office. according to the policy of the organisation the manager is absolutely right ....to protect the reputation of the manager the organisation will give him a full support if the donor proceeds to court. now the organisation is not happy with the donor's attitude as he would proceed further to harm the manager and the organisation intentionally hence we would appreciate is there any law that we can say no to his donation and ask him not to step in at the office.. we had a personal talk with the donor and requested him to avoid such incidence in future and if possible avoid donating to us but he said then return all my donation which was given from the beginning. please guide us in this situation we are not interested in his donation and also his entry
Advocate Ravinder
(Expert) 16 February 2015
If he files a criminal case against your manager, let him file. You defend the case by appointing a lawyer. There is no need to return the donations to him. Donating will not give him right to interfere into your administration of the Charitable society. If he wants to donate, let him donate. Send him a Registered Letter from your management a put a condition to him that he can donate, but he should not interfere or dictate the rules relating to the administration.
prabhakar singh
Well he has no right to ask back his past donations.
It is the sweet will of the trust to decide from whom to take donations.
A donor does not get right to interfere in management of trust.
Rajendra K Goyal
The organisation is at liberty for not accepting donation if the donor choose to interfere in the affairs of the organization in turn.
If he prefers to get his past donation back, he has no right to do so.
ajay sethi
agree with experts

Rightly advised by the experts. However, you should also not have any biased opinion about your manager or the daughter of the donor. Management should act impartially and rationally while extending support to his manager on merits only to avoid any misrepute to the organisation.
Vijaya Bhaskar
(Querist) 16 February 2015
Thank you so much Dear experts for your thoughts and suggestions. On behalf of board of trustees I thank and appreciate your timely information. Since management is worried and tired of his attitude is there any way to restrict his entry into the premises.

You are welcome. You have the right to ban entry of any person in the private property of the organisation, But, if your byelaws or the terms of registration of the trust provide for access of anyone or everyone, your rights would stand curtailed by such provisions. You may better check your own papers.

You are welcome.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate
(Expert) 17 February 2015
You are welcome for your appreciations. I agree with the opinions of the experts above. The trust in its meeting may decide about the accepting the donations from a particular donor and also restrict entry of any person/individual inside the premises.
Vijaya Bhaskar
(Querist) 19 February 2015
Dear Experts, may i request your goodselves to kindly help me with any any section/clause/acts/laws to to restrict the specific donor's donation and entry inside the premises which helps me to incorporate in the resolution at the board meeting.
Advocate Ravinder
(Expert) 19 February 2015
There is no need to go into depth of legal knowledge. You directly give a police complaint in the local PS. If there is no response from local PS, meet the higher officials such as ACP, Commissioner of Police etc.
If you can afford an Advocate, you can even file a civil suit (injunction suit) restraining him from entering into your official duties and also into your premises.
Vijaya Bhaskar
(Querist) 19 February 2015
Thank you very much for all your suggestions and guidance.
Vijaya Bhaskar
(Querist) 26 February 2015
Dear experts.. the board desires to have a resolution be passed at the board meeting in regard to xyz donation and entry into the premises. . Could you please help with draft for not accepting the donation and entry.

(Expert) 26 February 2015
Sufficient advice has been provided by the experts. If you want drafting services, you need to hire services of some local lawyer.
Vijaya Bhaskar
(Querist) 26 February 2015
Thank you. Appreciate your suggestions.

(Expert) 26 February 2015
You are welcome.