About study during government service (job)

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 01 November 2018 This query is : Resolved 

My name is Dr. Tushar Soni. I am a veterinary doctor in Agar Malwa district of Madhya Pradesh state. I have graduated in Veterinary Science. I want to take a LLB degree by studying with my job. Can I study LLB with my government job? Will the degree be valid? Do I have to study from college or adopt correspondence courses? What's the legal procedure for study during government service? Thank you
Isaac Gabriel (Expert) 01 November 2018
Anonymous are not encouraged. But your Academic query involves only service rules. As a Government servant, you are aware any Government servant cannot study during office hours. Further law course is not a part time one.
Guest (Expert) 01 November 2018
Degrees granted by the universities cannot be invalid, only the procedure adopted to get the degree can be invalid. Since distant courses are not available, regular course may not be permitted by your employer.

Although you have got constitutional right to education, but that is the talk of the Constitution, which is never consulted by the framers of Rules. So, the Constitution of India, which was got framed by an expenditure of Rs. 74 Lakhs up to the year 1949, equivalent to hundreds of thousands of crores of rupees today, seems to have become merely a piece for worship by keeping in bookshelves of the authorities.

So, whether you are anonymous or Dr. Tushar Soni, the executive rules may not provide you any help to you in your wish fulfillment.

Of course, you have the right to challenge the rules of the universities, being violative of the provisions of the Constitution of India..
Guest (Expert) 01 November 2018
Degrees granted by the universities cannot be invalid, only the procedure adopted to get the degree can be invalid. Since distant courses are not available, regular course may not be permitted by your employer.

Although you have got constitutional right to education, but that is the talk of the Constitution, which is never consulted by the framers of Rules. So, the Constitution of India, which was got framed by an expenditure of Rs. 74 Lakhs up to the year 1949, equivalent to hundreds of thousands of crores of rupees today, seems to have become merely a piece for worship by keeping in bookshelves of the authorities.

So, whether you are anonymous or Dr. Tushar Soni, the executive rules may not provide you any help to you in your wish fulfillment.

Of course, you have the right to challenge the rules of the universities, being violative of the provisions of the Constitution of India.
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 02 November 2018
Well analysed and obliged by expert Mr. Isaac Gabriel and Mr. PS Dhingra, I agree.
Take permission of employer and proceed.
Best wishes
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Expert) 02 November 2018
you can join evening classes

1. if available near your place of posting
2. if permitted by govt

or

1. take long leave (not study leave) if permitted by deptt
2. if deptt permits you to join study.
A. A. JOSE (Expert) 02 November 2018
I endorse well considered opinions already given by learned experts.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 02 November 2018
Pls don’t post as AQ and post with your ID and you can get many responses.
Your ID does not mean your email id or phone number etc and don’t post these.
Before attaching any document erase all names, logo, email id, phone number, address etc to maintain confidentiality.
Obtain proper legal opinion in writing from LOCAL counsel specializing in concerned field of law
Kumar Doab (Expert) 02 November 2018
You may not want to offend the authorities that are to provide necessary sanction/approval.
IT is not desirable also, for an employee to offend the authorities and also err in complying with applicable rules.
The concerned official in your office, seasoned employee’s forums-unions/senior colleagues that are well versed with applicable erulestrade union leaders etc can help you to get rules, understand the provisions and comply with applicable rules of establishment and apply for sanction/approval/permission..
The LOCAL DBA members, BCI member can also help and guide to choose recognized course/college/univ and mode of study like. Eveing college, regular course..
In the meantime you may pick up relevant points from article under my profile;

"Employee can study full time LLB course if superiors fail to grant permission"
Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 04 November 2018
Thanks to all for valuable suggestions
P. Venu (Expert) 08 November 2018
To my knowledge, there are no statutory rule (having the force of law) which prohibits a Government servant from pursuing further studies except with the permission of the Competent authority. However, joining a regular course of study is practically impossible unless classes are conducted in the morning or evening. There appears to be no correspondence courses leading to LLB degree.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 10 November 2018
Act diligently complying with applicable service rules and maintain proper record of all transactions.