It has become a fashion these days to compare the progress made by India and China. Why China has succeeded? Is it because the decision making is centralized and the democracy that has been taught to us and practised in India is absent there. Any body who talks against parliamentary democracy is termed anti-national. One of the basic structure of our Constitution is parliamentary democracy and we are paying the price with most of he representatives in the States and at the Centre facing criminal charges. Two phrases have been coined and are touted in defence of corrupt babus and netas:
1. Unless conviced, not guilty. Wonderful jurispruddence and allows the corrupt to become even Home Minister.
2. Lower court has convicted but appeal is pending in the high court. Therefore, not guilty. Can again become Minister. Term of his office would be over and appeal will keep pending.
Contrast it with what happens in USA. I think that country has also adopted democratic system. I know of no instance where a candidate with criminal background can ever be elected to the post of Senator, Representative or President.
It is in our interest to defend democracy in India. I am often reminded of the famous quotes of late Churchil:
Power will go to the hands of rascals, rogues and freebooters. All Indian leaders will be of low caliber and men of straw. They will have sweet tongues and silly hearts. They will fight among themselves for power and India will be lost in political squabbles.
This is the end result of democracy in Africa, Latin America, South East Asia which are suffering from poverty, disease, hunger and crooks have taken over.
Both Japan and Germany were decimated after II World War. See the transformation that has taken place there. They are two of the richest nations in the word and billions of dollars is given in aid to third world countries which are pocketed by corrupt netas and babus.
Only recently India's Ambassador to USA wrote to PM how millions were paid by American companies to Indian babus for favours and contracts. This is the kind of democracy that we have.
We are advised to be patient, tolerant and we shall succeed in removing this evil bring the rule of law.
Well, I commend such thoughts.