Roshni B.. (For justice and dignity)     09 September 2011

Indian courts can try offences done by husband abroad-sc

Indian courts can try offences committed by Indian in foreign country, rules Bench(Judgement attached below)

But prior consent of Central government (under Section 188 Cr.P.C.) is required

A dowry or any other offence committed by an Indian husband against his wife in a foreign country can be tried by a court in India, the Supreme Court has held.

A three-judge Bench of Justice Altamas Kabir, Justice Cyriac Joseph and Justice S.S. Nijjar said “the provisions of Indian Penal Code have been extended to offences committed by any citizen of India in any place within and beyond India by virtue of Section 4 thereof.”

The Bench, however said that offences committed by an Indian citizen in a foreign country would be amenable to provisions of IPC subject to the limitation imposed under Section 188 Cr.PC, viz seeking the prior consent of the Central government.

In the present case, the appellant Thota Venkateswarlu was married to Parvatha Reddy Suneetha in November 2005 as per Hindu traditions and customs in Ongole in Andhra Pradesh. At the time of marriage Rs. 12 lakh in cash, 45 sovereigns of gold and Rs. 50,000 as ‘Adapaduchu katnam' was alleged to have been given to the husband, mother-in-law, and other relatives of the husband.

According to Suneetha, her husband left for Botswana in January 2006 and she later joined him. While in Botswana, she was allegedly severely ill-treated and various demands were made including a demand for additional dowry of Rs. 5 lakh. Unable to withstand the torture she sent a complaint to the Superintendent of Police, Ongole for dowry offences under IPC as well offences under the Dowry Prohibition Act.

The magistrate, to whom the complaint was forwarded took cognisance and issued summons to the husband and others, who were questioned on their arrival to India. While the Andhra Pradesh High Court quashed proceedings against the appellant's mother and two others, it dismissed his plea. The present appeal by Venkateswaralu is directed against this order.

The appellant's wife argued that part of the offence relating to dowry was committed in Indian soil and part of the offence was committed abroad. Hence the offence could be tried in Indian courts. However, the appellant argued that he could not be tried without the previous sanction from the Central government.

Writing the judgment Justice Kabir pointed out that it was clear that the case relating to the alleged dowry offences were committed outside India. But since part of the offence was committed in India, the court here could try the appellant and the High Court was correct in rejecting his plea to quash the proceedings. The Bench while asking the trial court to take up the case said, the trial would not proceed without the sanction of the Central government as envisaged in Section 188 Cr.P.C.

Saurabh..V (Law Consultant)     09 September 2011

Dear Roshni

This is not a new law. This is something that everyone know.

Any crime committed by an India whether inside or outside the union territory of India is triable by Indian Courts and they have the power to extradite the person from foreign land.

Having said this, I would like to add that "extradition" policies are not stable and there are many instances where complainants failed to get justice. The process which include extraditing a person from foreign land back to India is to be green-signaled and put into action, is merely an eye-wash till date.

People like Daowd Ibrahim and many others ran away and till date the govt. has failed to bring them to justice.

I feel govt. act like govt. only on poor innocent and helpless man or say "husband" but bigger evils are yet not reachable.....

FYI - Pls read my post in Criminal Law Forum....... It has something related to your habit of posting news articles.

//peace

/Saurabh..V

Alongwith this news article,she's also posted the judgement.So it's not just an ordinary news.

This judgement is also the latest one.I checked it just now.So is the news.So do not say that she posted an old news/judgement.

Stop this ho-halla over her posts,which you never show,when her or my "news" is favourable to a male(husband)

@Princess

Pls give your valuable comments on my thread below:-

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/Fundamental-rules-on-LCI-Code-of-Conduct-Ethics-43703.asp

I'm not against women but you seem quiet against men. I'm not against posts till they are actually posts within the limits of a post.

Your point about attached judgment is genuine and I appreciate the efforts of finding and uploading it on regular basis by @Roshni. Having said this, I still strongly feel she can share such news in the "Articles" section. Also, the file could be shared along with that article. I personally do not endorse this method of posting (already printed) news on forums made for helping others for their issues.

To elicit view points one should specifically mention it in the forum like I've done many times.... But a simple c&p job is little out of tune...

//peace

/Saurabh..V

Having said this, I still strongly feel she can share such news in the "Articles" section. Also, the file could be shared along with that article.

I have uploaded the file as well as news in the news section many a times in the past,including just a few days back.But they were not approved.

I personally do not endorse this method of posting (already printed) news on forums made for helping others for their issues.

Others are getting adequate legal advice for their problems here in the forums.Their queries are duly replied by the Ld. advocates here.And also in expert section.It's not that people have stopped getting help,because I post such judgement related news.

Secondly this is a forum.It's not just meant for legal advice.It's also meant for discussion on the burning topics in law,effects of these laws on society etc.This site is meant for lawyers and public both.It's clearly mentioned alongside LCI's logo above,that it's a discussion platform for Indian public & lawyers.So when other members in LCI have no issues with this,why do you fret & fume so much???

It's another thing that you become insecure when the judgement favours a female.

Anyways,I went through that thread where you seek our views.There you stated the following:The reply should not try to impose their personal thinking to other writers."

But here you are doing the same,ie,telling me what I should post/not post.Isn't this imposing your view on me?

So kindly follow what you preach...

Have a good day anyways.....

revolutionary (NA)     09 September 2011

Dear Roshini

Thanks for uploading this judgment. I am really grateful for the same.

revolutionary (NA)     09 September 2011

Apologies, I did not complete my post earlier, so this is a followup post. Can anyone confirm which would be the relevant central govt authority that would give permission to file a case against an NRI in India.

And if my understanding is correct, a case cannot be filed for NRI under 498a or DV act until central govt permission is gained. Kindly guide me in the issue stated above.

thanks dear revoutionary..

@Roshni

FYI, I got a wonderful book. Thanks to @Admin.... Below in the link for my gestures to @Admin..

https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/I-ve-been-rewarded-thanks-admin-43736.asp

And about your reply above I wish to say:::::

I do not fret & fume .... It was most polite way of asking you to not to post such news items. Especially those which are well established laws but just hown in different ways by the news papers.

Anyways. I was wrong that may be some day you would realise about my point however you have successfully shown your insistence and canny habits.... I'm done with it !!

My grudge was basically because:

- As your posts do not show anything new than the peculiar case being taken (copy&pasted) from a news paper it certainly does not serve any purpose. Misusing your liberty to post anything does not mean you can actually post anything to which there might not even be single reply (though you might get points which might be one of the reasons you do that). I seriously doubt your intensions behind posting these articles as you never discussed in any forum/post on law point. Never! Yours are general replies as a generic common person who is not technically sound of the law in India but can certainly give 10hr lecture on law......

- You never post anything related to your view point or something you wish to urge through the public forum. As you say it, this is a public forum, then why not use it to raise your own voice than singing the news paper items.

And finally I do not blame you for being rejected by the @Admin in the news forum. It might again be some wicked member like me who do not endorse inequality on the name of equality.....who put your posts down!!!!

I have uploaded the file as well as news in the news section many a times in the past,including just a few days back.But they were not approved.

It is evident that when these items where not being accepted by @Admin, then you decided to post them here. One can imagine their value!! Still you wish to keep posting where @Admin allows only for the sake of posting you won "rookie"....

I wonder how much hypocratic people gets to prove their point !!

And regarding my advice to not to get personal ... This was a personal request that is why it was a personal comment. I'm outta here ....... And lets see who doesnt get personal in coming times (hope you woudl stay here till I would !)

//peace

/Saurabh..V

Good to see your excitement and your jumping after you got 1 book.Your excitement.It reminds me of my childhood days.

Now go and read this book.I hope this book diverts your mind and you no more think of the judgements which Roshni is posting.

@Princess

Ohh .. your childhood ? It's already gone? :p .. I thank god that I'm still have that childhood spark in me that I do not fake emotions and I feel joyful for being rewarded for good work.

And yeah.........may be you should think about changing your name to "Queen" from "Princess" as per yuor age dadi maa.

after you got 1 book.

The above line is evident that how disgraceful you are to this forum. In place of appreciating someone'e contributions on the forum you are lambasting ........ for the reason that I write against you? I really feel disheartened from your mind-set. I just want to ask, are girl's really like this (other than my mom, sister and friends)???????????????? If yes, I'm better off single than married :-|

@Roshni

Did you saw what I wanted to mention. Who gets personal first and who looses temper quicker??

//peace

/Saurabh..V

hi andheri .......oops roshni ( never mind typos )

please be genuine so that others can be genuine with u