Died in harness
dipmalashah
(Querist) 15 August 2013
what is meaning of died in harness, is that any specific rules for gujarat? petitioner approached HC after 14 years of delay, his application was pending in corporation for compassionate appointment. His father died after continuous service of 33 years. now petitioner is asking for 4 lakhs compensation in lieu compensatory appointment as per new policy of government. kindly help me if their is any citation ?
Devajyoti Barman
(Expert) 15 August 2013
Someone from your state may better help you. In WB there is no such rule for providing for compensation in lieu of job.
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 16 August 2013
Contact local lawyer to guide in the matter.
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 16 August 2013
Dying harness in context to the matter is dispute is that the legal heirs are dying without regular income of deceased.
In your case, the initial stage has already passed and you keep sleeping for last 14 years. It is to be seen locally whether all pending cases are covered under new policy or not.
Better to use RTI Act.
Anirudh
(Expert) 16 August 2013
Died in harness means, the death of an employee/officer/official while in service.
If any govt. official/officer dies while in service, naturally keeping in view the financial position of the family employment on compassionate basis used to be given to one member of that family - according to the rules and conditions for the same.
That compassionate appointment is mainly on the condition that the family should not have monthly income more than Rs. 5000/- or so some 10 years back.
The main idea of compassionate appointment is to give IMMEDIATE financial relief to the family and to provide for livelihood. The claim for compassionate appointment therefore cannot have any support after a delay of 14 years.
Further the question of claiming any COMPENSATION in lieu of compassionate appointment DOES NOT AT ALL ARISE.
The Govt. is not bound to grant any compassionate appointment at all.
K.K.Ganguly
(Expert) 17 August 2013
I am in agreement with Mr. Anirudh.
prabhakar singh
(Expert) 17 August 2013
When there would be GOVT rule notified by G.O.,as he states,it would be paid.
He should check in his state only.