married 3 months back dowry harrasment

Querist :
Anonymous
(Querist) 18 April 2011
Dear All
I would like your wise counsel regarding the issue of my sister whom we got married in the month of december 2010, the guy is a teacher and tution master, my sister works in an mnc it is a arranged marriage as the guy was working under our relative and was seen as very polite person we went ahead , still knowing that he has got one elder brother and elder sister unmarried , another two sisters younger to him and a brother younger to him, we felt that since he is good he will look after her nicely , we gave him cash and a vehicle also , we are from middle class and told him clearly we cannot afford more than that. on the day of the marriage itself the mother started asking us thatwe didnt give her the money directly and gave it to her son , the brother and sister of the groom didnt come for marriage after marriage they all started treating my sister like a slave, since ours is a respectable family we didnt want any issues on the marriage day we kept quite , they even called the groom from the reception stage and started arguing with us , but at that time the guy was good to us and didnt say anything , but soon after marriage he started harrassing my sister he has told so many lies and is a hypocrite , as my sister has to relocate to hyd she told him and he agreed but after som days he started saying he wanted to start a school and wanted ten lakhs se told him we cannot afford as we gave a dowry of 75k we can afford only that. every day he used to call her and harrass her nad wen she went to hyderabad he didnt turn up to receive her.. he said its not working out lets seperate .. today he has sent a legal notice he has not visited us also he made his brother talk vulgarly to my sister over phone..please advice us as to weather we can accept the legal notice nad how to proceed further.. we are no more intrested in him as he has been pretending all these days in front of us and torturing my sister mentally and physically when alone. after marriage his entire family started treating my sister like a slave. Kindly advise and let us know the course of action to be taken .the guy is from hyderabad and we are from vizag
Jitendar Kumar gupta
(Expert) 19 April 2011
your sister is in really great trauma but she has to decide her life whether she wants to continue or not with her husband. then and then only some way out can be sorted out.
J.K.Gupta ADv.
guptajkin@gmail.com
Arun Kumar Bhagat
(Expert) 22 April 2011
Lodge FIR u/s 498A. She can also file case under PWDV Act.