Need legal advise on how to proceed for a muslim marriage dissolution
shasha
(Querist) 18 May 2014
I have a brother who is Mentally Handi-capped, we (my parents) wanted someone in his life who can be there with him life long, hence we started looking for a bride for him. After a short search, we found a girl . We had explained her and her family members of my brother's condition. After they agreed my brother was married to her in normal muslim marriage. Note that we have not taken any money in form of land/jewellary/cash from the bride/her family. They had asked for a monitery help to conduct their side of marriage so we had given them 30,000(as they were poor) for that. It was not a bargain, where both sides knew about my brother's problem. At the time of marriage my parents had given the girl some gold ornaments(worth upto 4 lakhs). Now after 2 years , she had gone to her native, promising to return in 20 days, but has not and doesnot want to stay in this marriage. We requested her several times to come back. but she is bent on de-faming us. she says she will get us to divorce her and get atleast 2-3 lakhs and the jewellary we have given her in marriage as her compensation for marrying my brother. we donot know wat to do in this condition. Please advise us on how to proceed in this situation. We have always treated her with respect and have considered her part of our family. We didn't deceive her or her family when we asked her hand in marriage. We had told everything about my brother and problem she may face and been clear from our side. now she says that my brother is impotent and wants compensation. Please advise.
Devajyoti Barman
(Expert) 18 May 2014
First of all you all did a great wrong by getting a mentally handicapped person married with a sound person. By way of doing this you sough to spoil the life of a woman knowing fully well she was going to get nothing from this marriage. I think it was nothing but a sin.
I thin scenario I do not feel like offering my legal advice.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate
(Expert) 18 May 2014
Under the present scenario, it is better to remain silent or else she out of retaliation indulges in any legal action against you people with false complaints, you all may have to face more problems, instead, allow the things to go in its own way and do not trouble the trouble or else the trouble will keep troubling you.
Sankaranarayanan
(Expert) 18 May 2014
i too stand on the view of Barman ji and Mr Kalaiselvan
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 18 May 2014
If not agree to live to gather try for talaque through mutual understanding.