Potagi claim

(Querist) 25 October 2015 This query is : Resolved 
My brother in laws wife is not leaving with him for the last 3 years. He had a son. He tried to convince wife to stay with him but she is not ready. Now she filed case for potagi. Two police constables came to his house and informed that case is filed and they have to pay about 2.80 lac as potagi. Also informed that issue to be resolved within weeks time. If money is not paid they will recover by selling property which is in his mother name. My question is if his wife is not ready to stay with him how can she demand potagi? Please advise.
P. Venu (Expert) 26 October 2015
What is 'potagi'? Anyhow, the police do not have any powers to demand such payments. It very much amounts to abuse of power.
Anupam Lahiri (Expert) 26 October 2015
What is "Potagi"? Is it a local name? Kindly elaborate what type of proceeding has been initiated?

Always remember one thing, in legal proceedings the written documents matter. Try to get the documents from the constable who informed you about the matter.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 26 October 2015
Explain potagi?

For claim of your wife, property in the name of your mother can not be sold.

You can consult local lawyer and discuss.
K.S.Srinivas (Expert) 28 October 2015
For the claim of the wife of your friend, the property which is in the name of mother of your fiend need not be sold. Police have acted beyond their jurisdiction.
Anupam Lahiri (Expert) 29 October 2015
The basic question is not solved. What is "potagi"?

The issue of selling mother's property is out of question.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 31 October 2015
The author is not coming out with the clarification, therefore it appears it is not his case and also an academic query. No police has guts to visit somebody's home and demand such a huge ransom, the police personnel can be taken to task.