Change of address in passports

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 06 September 2011 This query is : Resolved 
Hi experts,

I am an indian citizen (33 yrs) and have an indian passport (2003 to 2013, from hyderabad) and had been to germany before for 3.5 yrs for my study. I have a simple query:

1. I shifted to a new place almost 6 yrs ago in the same city (hyderabad)and still living there, but unfortunately have not changed the address in the passport. If I get a work permit in future to work abroad, will it hamper my chances of getting a visa if I do not update the change of address in the passport ?

2. In general, what are the consequences of not updating change of address in indian passports?

I thank you in advance for your suggestions.
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 06 September 2011
1. Generally it shall not hamper but it is advisable to get correction.

2. A fine of Rs. 1000/- is required to be imposed.
ajay sethi (Expert) 06 September 2011
i agree with Mr Makkad get the address changed in your passport
Guest (Expert) 06 September 2011
I also agree with Shri Makkad.
prabhakar singh (Expert) 07 September 2011
1.you need the addressed changed.

2.may result into forfeiture if coming to light in case of any eventuality.
Guest (Expert) 07 September 2011
Sorry, I may have to differ with the opinion of Shri Prabhakar Singh ji. Chances of visa are not likely to be hampered, as there is no police verification at the time of issue of visa. Visa is issued by the ambassy of the country concerned with reference to the validity of the passport and financial information from which the visa issuing office gets ensured whether or not the applicant would be able to self-support or get appropriate financial support for living abroad during the duration of visa.

However about change of addrwess, the information available on the Passport site of the Government of India provides, as follows:

"It is up to you to change the address. It is always better if your passport indicates your current address. For this purpose, you need to fill up form-II and submit it along with valid proof of your residential address at Passport Office of the area of where you reside."
prabhakar singh (Expert) 07 September 2011
I think neither in his query nor in my answer VISA word has occurred as any reference,then fallacious it is to speak about what is not there either as question or as answer.

One is free to differ in opinion with any other but not to free lance his every knowledge out of some perversion.
Guest (Expert) 07 September 2011
Prabhakar ji,

You may kindly like to read lines 3-4 of Query-1 of the question, where it has been clearly mentioned "will it hamper my chances of getting a VISA."
Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 07 September 2011
Thanks a lot experts. What I could understand from your suggestions is that not changing the address right away in my passport cannot stop me from getting a visa, but it is always better to have it changed whenever possible. Please correct me if I am wrong!

As my passport will expire in mid 2013, I plan to renew it at the start of 2013 and also change the address then.

Thanks once again.