Regarding cancellation of engagement
vishalgupta
(Querist) 23 March 2013
sir/madam
my engagement was held on 24 February then after 2-3 days i went to my fiancee to meet her ,during our meeting she refuses to come to my hometown after marriage ,before the engagement she was ready to come to my hometown ,so i decided to call of marriage which will be on 29 April 2013, so i don't want to marry her because of our future plans, so guide me how to cancel it .
her family members are forcing me to marry and they are saying that if you don't marry then we will suit against you.please help me .thank you
Advocate M.Bhadra
(Expert) 23 March 2013
Valid marriage is whether it was registered or it was performed according to custom and rites,so you can rescind your proposal to marriage if they have no sufficient proof.But if your marriage is concerned with registered marriage then only Court can annulment of your marriage.
Relationship is based on trust. If this is missing, there is no point in continuing this relationship. I agree that this marriage may not work. The question is whether your fiancee is also not co-operative.
You get only one life to live. Live without regrets & fear. It is your call now. If you feel that there is no way out, cancel the marriage. There is nothing that can stop you from doing so. People have a short memory. They will forget what you did in course of time. But it is your life, finally.
Devajyoti Barman
(Expert) 23 March 2013
You can anyway cancel the betrothal-engagement by returning the items if gifted in the meantime.
No formality is required for this.
However while returning the gifted items do get a written acknowledgement.
No suit lies against such cancellation though damages can be claimed but very hard to prove.
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 26 March 2013
Well advised by Barman. Engagement is not a bond and even Hindu Marriage is not a contact and it cannot be enforceable even by courts. You need to serve a notice and have to return the items of gifts.
vishalgupta
(Querist) 28 March 2013
Thank you to all my advisers.
I am very soon going to give notice and return the gift items to my fiancee family.
but what can they(fiancee and family) do else after getting my notice of cancellation of engagement.
please reply ...
vishalgupta
(Querist) 03 April 2013
Thank you to all my advisers.
I am very soon going to give notice and return the gift items to my fiancee family.
but what can they(fiancee and family) do else after getting my notice of cancellation of engagement.
please reply ...
prabhakar singh
(Expert) 03 April 2013
BE CAREFUL AND RETURN UNDER RECEIPT OF FULL DISCHARGE AND SATISFACTION.
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 04 April 2013
After return of due items with the cheque of other minor expenses, there is no chance for the opposite party to raise any legal issue.
vishalgupta
(Querist) 06 April 2013
THANK YOU TO ALL MY ADVISERS.
I WILL INFORM YOU MY PROCEEDINGS
vishalgupta
(Querist) 18 April 2013
I went to resolve and to cancel the engagement to my fiancee'home with my 2-3 relatives.meeting was took place in the hotel where her father had book that hotel for shaadi reception.There after hot talk we agreed to exchange what we had in engagement ceramony.her father claim the money for all small things what he spend till that time and he forced me to pay that ,fearing me to lodge false complaint of dowry and FIR.I have given the money ,and they refuse to return my spending telling that you are cancelling the engagement not we.And they haven't given in writing what money i have given to them.
vishalgupta
(Querist) 18 April 2013
And her father had booked that hotel and I have to give that full amount.And now I want to cancel that hotel so that I CAN GET SOME AMOUNT BACK, WHAT SHOULD i DO ?
Devajyoti Barman
(Expert) 18 April 2013
Cancel the booking and get the money back. You should have taken written acknowledgement for the articles you have returned.
vishalgupta
(Querist) 19 April 2013
Yes sir i asked for that but they refuse to give in writing
today I m going to cancel the booking lets see what the hotel management do whether they will cancel or refuse to cancel the booking,.if they refuse then what should I do ?
ajay sethi
(Expert) 19 April 2013
what is the proof that you have returned the articles . send a letter by regd post mentioning that in meeting held on date following gift articles were returned .
for cancellation of hotel booking it depnds upon how many days in advance booking s are cancelled . if it is cancelled well in advance hotel may deduct 10%cancellation charges and retrun the balance . see terms and condsitions of booking in receipt issued to you