A 5-year degree is not equal to a 4-year degree

(Querist) 07 February 2014 This query is : Resolved 
Sirs,
I joined a 5-Year Integrated Degree in Software Engineering, offered by an AICTE-approved Engineering College. I applied for an "Equivalence Certificate" thinking that my course is at least EQUAL to 4-year B.E. The University that framed syllabi/duration etc, of both the said courses, has certified my 5-Year course as NOT EQUAL to B.E. I paid fees equivalent to that of B.E. I am perturbed. Can I approach the Consumer Court to compensate - since I had studied a course inferior to a 4 year course? I feel cheated. Kindly advise if this matter comes under Consumer Act. Thanks Sirs.
RAJU O.F., (Expert) 07 February 2014
Unless in the prospectus for the 5 year course, there was mention that it is eqivalent to 4 year course, you may not succeed in consumer or other legal remedies. If so, do'nt waste time, money and energy for litigation. Try to secure job with the present passed course.
Advocate. Arunagiri (Expert) 07 February 2014
The college would have affiliation from AICTE. Please check whether any university had recognized the said course.

Guest (Expert) 07 February 2014
In your other query the author had said matter is pending in court.Which I have to trust
Kumar Doab (Expert) 07 February 2014
Has the Univ. stated in prospectus, advertisement, circulars, notices of the course that 5-Year course is EQUAL to B.E.?

Don’t assume. Generate evidence.
If you have evidence you shall have merits and chances.

Even so called AICTE approved colleges may be running many other courses ………………….

The student should be ‘Beware’ and must inquire beforehand.
Mohandoss.R. (Querist) 09 February 2014
Sirs,
THANKS to all you. As quoted by NJSR Sir, the matter isin court. But due to delay, the purpose for which the WP was filed stands defeated. Only, seeking compensation part is left out. So, a Lawyer suggested to go in for Consumer Court, tell the HC that you are not insisting compensation in view of consumer court case. That's why I asked you, learned people.
The College Prospectus stated it as a AICTE-approved course. But, AICTE has denied it in writing. The University that introduced the course in AICTE-approved Engg college itself has replied that this 5 year course is not equal to 4 year B.E.
The HC Course revolves around this fraud.
Now, kindly guide me.
Guest (Expert) 09 February 2014
Please Contest The High Court Case once you succeed it would be a Remedy for Many
Mohandoss.R. (Querist) 10 February 2014
NJSR Sir, Very kind of you. Thanks for your encouragement. Sir, what about Consumer Court case - shall I go in for it..or..patiently wait for my turn..all the 5 respondents in that case have not so far filed their counter, despite court's specific order to file it in 4 weeks time..>5 years passed. One or two times, it was listed, but did not reach..that is how the fate runs. Anyway, hats off for your involvement in answering lay-men's queries. Thanks Sirs.
Guest (Expert) 10 February 2014
Your Advocate could submit a letter to High Court Registrar to take up the case on urgent basis.If the Respondent are not responding High Court could decide Ex Parte
Kumar Doab (Expert) 10 February 2014
You have posted that:
"The College Prospectus stated it as a AICTE-approved course."

You may use it as evidence in HC and DCDRF and any other forum that you may approach including AICTE.

At website of AICTE you shall find the procedure on how to lodge such complaint.
Mohandoss.R. (Querist) 13 February 2014
Dear Sirs,
Warm regards. Letters were given to the Registray & even a letter was addressed to Chief J of MS HC - but of no avail. So, I am thinking of filing a M.P requesting the HC to decide the case ex-parte in view of "no counter" from all 5 respondents, despite HC orders; AICTE itself is a party here & it has also not given its counter. Complaints given to AICTE are sleeping. So, complaining to it now (as advised by Kumar Saab) would yield no result. But, I think a M.P may kindle the issue. Am right Sirs?
RAJU O.F., (Expert) 14 February 2014
Try for a suitable job with the Degree you had secured. Whether it is equalent to another course, is not relevant if you find a suitable employer; your competence in the subject matter, may count. I know persons without any approved degree, only with plus two and some certificate course in computer, presently drawing salrary of around Rs.5 lakhs per month elsewhere in software companies. Hence don't waste you time, money and energy for litigation, as I advised earlier.