Marriage
arvind bhalerao
(Querist) 08 June 2012
My son wants to marry with american girl in india .He is in US since last 5 yrs on H1B visa. please guide/ procedure under special marriage Act? Is she has to convert to Hindu if we want the marriage by our custom?
and not as per special marriage act
Nadeem Qureshi
(Expert) 09 June 2012
Dear Arvind
if the girl is ready to come to india and ready to convert in Hindu, no need to go under special marriage act, you can easily solomanize the marriage according to your custom.
SAINATH DEVALLA
(Expert) 09 June 2012
Take her to any Ayra Samaj Mandir & ask there to get her Shudhi ceremony preformed as she is interested in this conversion to Hindu religion. Now it possible that these Arya Samaj Mandir officials ask for affidavit from this girl for this ceremony which has to be attested by the notary public, they may even ask for her passport size photographs & even ask for witnesses for this ceremonies along with their affadivits,her age proof ,her residence proof & her identity proof. So be prepared for all such documents which you will be requiring even for the purpose of marriage as well its registration. The Arya Samaj Mandir will perform her Shudhi ceremony & issue a certificate regarding this conversion, the Arya Samaj Mandir priest then even marry this girl with the boy & issue a certificate with regards to this marriage. On the basis of both these certificates & photographs of these ceremonies you can get this marriage registered under section 8 of the Hindu Marriage Act, 1956 with the marriage registrar/Tehsildar of the district where this marriage took place. You must have witnesses for both these ceremonies with you who can give affidavit regarding these when asked. As such parents of the parties are the best witnesses. Now this way the marriage will be legal under the Hindu Marriage Act, 1956 & no one dare challenge it.
(Expert) 20 June 2012
Rightly explained by Sainath.