Break-in-service

(Querist) 03 February 2014 This query is : Resolved 
I am working i a PSU where a peculiar case experienced . An employee will be retiring from the service w.e.f. 28.02.14. While computation of his gratuity it has been observed that in his personal file certain remarks has been recorded that 'BREAK-IN-SERVICE VIDE ORDER NO: XXXXX DT. 4TH JULY 1984" But nothing has been mentioned about the actual period of break-in-service. As a result of which it is very difficult to calculate his gratuity after break-i-service as it is not known what is the date of reinstatement after break-in-service. All old records have been searched but all invain. Actually his break-in-service occurred due to active participation in the strike. Employee concerned was asked to submit papers of old records if available with him, but the employee concerned answered negetatively. In that case how calculation of gratuity will be done. Kindly advise what method is to be adopted in that.
Guest (Expert) 03 February 2014
What is not definite has to be ignore. Even if there is a break in service that may be only for the period of a few days of strike he participates in. That may not cause any substantial difference in calculation of gratuity.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 03 February 2014
Mr. Dhingra has given wise advice. Kindly foillow it
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 03 February 2014
Sh. PS Dhingra is an authority in service matters and law relating to it.

Agree with the advise from Ld. PS Dhingra ji.
Hi Kumar Doab & Rajendra K Goyal,

Thank you for your appreciation.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 03 February 2014
Shri P.S.Dhingra ji,

You deserve it.We are fortunate to have you around.

You are welcome.

With Regards

KumarDoab
Kumar ji,

I am quite obliged to you as well other community members for the goodwill gesture towards me.
PS Dhingra ji,

Really you deserve, Unlucky I lack exact words to explain my feelings of regard for you and your knowledge.
Pradeep (Querist) 03 February 2014
Respected Dhingraji thanks for your such quick & excellent reply.
Dear Pradeep,

Thanks for the appreciation. You are welcome.
Rajendra ji,

Your heart felt sentiments, feelings and affection for me are of greatest value for me as compared to the expressions even through uniquely excellent words.
PS Dhingra ji.

Thanks with humble regards
Welcome again.