Transfer of property papers in my my name as my father has expired.
Gurpreet
(Querist) 25 February 2016
I am very much a novice to this legal affairs, but my case is that my father expired suddenly without leaving any will & my mother had already expired before my father so only me & my sister (married) is surviving in the family. As my father expired without leaving any will, I wanted to know how to get the property transferred in my name as my sister has given her consent that she doesn't want any share.
and in the name of papers I have the registered sales deed which my father had done with the seller. Kindly Guide me on how to get the property transferred & how much time and money will be consumed in this process.
Thanks & Regards,
Gurpreet
kavksatyanarayana
(Expert) 25 February 2016
As your father died intestate the property will be devolved between you and your sister with equal rights. so you obtain a relinquishment (release) deed from your sister in favour of you. the cost for release deed is less than the sale deed. you did not mention that where the property is situated? the stamp duty is vary from state to state.
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 26 February 2016
In some states, gift to blood relation has nil / negligible stamp fee. Confirm in your state and get registered relinquishment / gift deed from your sister.
Gurpreet
(Querist) 26 February 2016
Thanks a Lot Rajendra K Goyal & kavksatyanarayana Ji for your valuable replies,
well the said property is situated in delhi.
and also i wanted to know that after obtaining the relinquishment deed what should I do next to get the papers transferred in my name. whom to approach, Please guide me ahead..
thanks
kavksatyanarayana
(Expert) 26 February 2016
after obtaining release deed from your sister, apply in nagarpalika concerned for mutation with copy of document etc.
Gurpreet
(Querist) 27 February 2016
thanks again, and after doing the said procedure will I get the new papers in my name?
basically I want to know is after that will I be able to do the sale deal for the said property if i want to?
Kumar Doab
(Expert) 27 February 2016
The original death certificate of father, mother, legal heir certificate, should suffice to transfer the property in your name and sisters.
Thereafter sisters can relinquish/gift/sell etc.
Check the procedure from authority e.g;MC.
Registered relinquish/gift/sale deed etc shall certainly be better than or in addition to NOC for future.