Children right to property

(Querist) 19 March 2012 This query is : Resolved 
Dear Sir !
I don't have any ancesteral property and I am a retired govt. servant. However, out of my own earning all through my govt. service, I own two plots of land and few lakhs money in the bank (terminal benefits). But my daughter betrayed me by arranging marriage on her own totally against my wishes and dreams. Is she having any legal claim / right on my self earned land properties and bank balance. Will she file any suite for the above ? If so, am I bound to give her share as per court verdict ? Shall I sell the properties without her sign. (consent) in the sale deed. Kindly advise Sir ! Since she betrayed me, I reluctant to afford to any share out of my own hard earned money, but not ancesteral.
T.SELVAN
Adv.R.P.Chugh (Expert) 19 March 2012
If the property is all self acquired in all respects, the daughter can lay no claim during your lifetime. You can sell/gift/will the property without her consent, her signatures are not required at all.

You can also disown her publicly if you desire so, by way of a public notice.
ajay sethi (Expert) 19 March 2012
she is your only daughter . no doubt she has married against your wishes . although legally she can have no claim over your seldf acquired property yet as mother to disown your only child is harsh step .

time is a great healer . dont take any hasty decisions . forgive her .
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 19 March 2012
Your daughter has no legal right to claim against any property whether it is movable or immovable of you as the same is exclusively your self earned.

You can sale or dispose off in the manner you require without her signature but you should also read carefully the advice of sethi.

After all she is your daughter.....
Shonee Kapoor (Expert) 19 March 2012
Make a will, disownment does not disqualify her to the right of succession.

Ghanshyam Prasad (Expert) 20 March 2012
Being self acquired property,you can deal with in amanner you like.your daughter has no claim or say.
Deepak Nair (Expert) 20 March 2012
Your self earned property. You are free to dispose off the same by way of a will. Your daughter does not have any right on that property. You are entitle to transfer the said property to anybody you like.
Guest (Expert) 20 March 2012
You are the sole owner and can dispose of your property in any manner during your life time.
ESTHERPRIYA (Expert) 21 March 2012
As it is your self acquired property no right can be claimed by any body including your sister.
malipeddi jaggarao (Expert) 26 March 2012
Follow the advice of expert Mr.Makkad saheb. Though you are free to deal with your self-acquired properties, afterall she is your daugther. Tomorrow u should no feel for your decisions of today.