Mispelled name in marriage certificate

(Querist) 15 November 2012 This query is : Resolved 
I recently got my marriage certificate from Tamil nadu govt for adding my wife's name in passport (as part of reissue). My fathers name is misspelled as Dass instead of Doss in 2 places, and in one place it is mentioned correctly as Doss. In my old passport it is mentioned as Doss only. Because of the misspelled name in marriage certificate, passport officer asked me get this corrected and took my old passport with him.
1. What is the procedure to get this corrected?
2. Is there any other proof that can be provided to passport officer so as to get my passport issued?
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 16 November 2012
1. Move a simple application to the authority which issued such certificate seeking its correction.

2. The previous passport shall be sufficient document to be enclosed with the application.
Ramki (Querist) 16 November 2012
Thanks for the response! Sir.

The sub-registrar who issued the marriage certificate is not agreeing for correcting it on his own and he says it is a time consuming process (application for correction will be forwarded to District registrar and he will forward that to IG of registration and based on his assent only correction will take place).
Though my previous passport is having my father's name as Doss, the passport officer is still insisting to get my marriage certificate corrected.
Please guide me on resolving this?
ajay sethi (Expert) 16 November 2012
contact a local lawyer . he will do the needful
Sailesh Kumar Shah (Expert) 16 November 2012
Proceed as advised by Mr.Ajay Sethi. Lawyer will do the needful.
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 17 November 2012
Though the process may take some time but there is no alternate to this and you need to adopt it as soon as possible. You may save time by personally dispatching the letters from one office to other.
Ramki (Querist) 20 November 2012
Thanks a lot!. As suggested, I have given an application to the sub-registrar for correction.
V R SHROFF (Expert) 20 November 2012
Agents / Adv are helpful in such matter. it works faster, and at ease.