Querist :
Anonymous
(Querist) 15 June 2010
I was working for a multi- national bank for last 10 yrs but because the bank decided to close my business vertical I was offered severance package in lieu of continous service. I accepted the severance package and left the bank on 15/05/2010.
Now on 14/06/2010 i received my gratuity amount of approx 5.50 lacs on which the bank has deducted approx 67,000 income tax (30% tax on amount above 3,50,000).
My query is that if government has recently increased to non taxable limit of gratuity payment from Rs 3.50 lacs to 10.00 lacs then am I liable to pay income tax on my gratuity amount of approx 5.50 lacs.
(Expert) 15 June 2010
The gratuity is exempted from income-tax. In this connection, the Govt has issued instructions (it was in news to-day, 15.06.2010).
Vineet
(Expert) 18 June 2010
Its unfortunate but the enhanced limit of gratuity is is applibale wef 24-5-2010 and any person retiring or leaving prior to that date is covered by earlier limit of Rs 3.50 Lakhs only.
Trouble Logging in? Try following the given steps -
1. Visit your inbox to find a confirmation mail from LAWyersClubIndia.
2. Click on the confirmation link and confirm your signup