How to become social worker
pundalika achyuta bhat
(Querist) 27 January 2014
I have seen some people using 'Social Worker' against their names on visiting cards etc.,
My question is - how to obtain 'social Worker' status? By acquiring any qualification or some other ways? I want to know. Please guide me.
With regards,
Pundalika Bhat.
Devajyoti Barman
(Expert) 28 January 2014
There is no legal definition or method to become such 'worker'.
If you do anything for the society at arge then you would be termed as such.
However you may form a society and do public activities which can be termed as aactivities as well.
V R SHROFF
(Expert) 28 January 2014
can join NGO, or Wing of Social services of any recognised Political Party to get avail diff schemes of Govt for poor & needy,
No Legal Procedure..
Join Human Rights ASSO,
R.V.RAO
(Expert) 28 January 2014
social worker tag does not come with any qualification or experience or visiting card.service to man is service to god.if you believe in such ideals,serve people around you on every day,every way and on as many occasions in as many ways as possible .any type of help to the needy.
as swamy vivekananda said,"to wipe out every tear from every eye is the highest form of socialism.".help need not mean money. even sympathy,kind words,gestures will also be social service.
what the society gave you, you are giving back to the society .kind heart ,sincere attitude,genuine concern is all we need to serve others without any expectation in return. this will be eventually recognised by all those around you.very soon you will be an able social worker.-care for others......
Advocate. Arunagiri
(Expert) 28 January 2014
Social worker is not a designation or a degree.
If any body is spending their time and money, for the well being and uplift of the society and public, he is called a social worker.
His activities itself will show that he is a social worker or not.
malipeddi jaggarao
(Expert) 28 January 2014
Agreed with all the experts.
If you wish to channelize the activities and form a non-profitable organisation there are methods for forming such NGOs. NGOs means non-government organisations working for society. Initially better to join hands with some good NGO which actually serves the society and then think of forming your own organisation. I am here to guide you. All the expert members here are social workers. We are working for no-profit and provide peace of mind to many innocents.
pundalika achyuta bhat
(Querist) 28 January 2014
Dear Experts, Thanks to each one of you for replying my query very nicely with good suggestions. I will follow the same. With regards,
Pundalika Bhat.
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 28 January 2014
Well advised by the experts, nothing more to add.
ajay sethi
(Expert) 28 January 2014
agree with experts

(Expert) 28 January 2014
Dear Mr. Bhat,
If someone uses the term 'Social Worker' against his name on visiting cards, he cannot necessarily be a social worker. In most cases, such lable is used just to get some vain recognition in public or administration irrespective of whether he is a social worker or not.
The real social worker need not add the tag of a 'social worker,' as people readily recognize him from his services and deeds dedicated towards social welfare.
Just try to be helpful to common people in the society near you, you automatically gain the status of a social worker.
To add to your expertise and qualification you can take up subjects like Introduction to Social Work, applied sociology, Social Psychology, etc.
Normally a social worker is a type of person, who is always ready to volunteer himself as far as possible for the help of people in trouble anywhere and everywhere.
pundalika achyuta bhat
(Querist) 28 January 2014
Thanks Mr. P.S. Dhingra, for your comments/suggestions. While your entire response to my query was sufficient for me to understand the subject 'Social Worker', I am very much impressed with the second and third paragraph.
With regards,
Pundalika Bhat.

(Expert) 28 January 2014
Dear Mr. Bhat,
Thanks for your appreciation. You are welcome.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate
(Expert) 28 January 2014
I agree and endorse Mr.Dingra's opinion. The social worker tag, no doubt a qualification acquired through any educations institution or conferred by any one to anyone, it is commonly misused for personal and selfish motives. The money spent now on such advertisements are actually investment for extracting returns in manifold in the future.

(Expert) 28 January 2014
Kalaiselvan ji,
Thanks for endorsing my views.