Illegal use of images
Abhishek jain
(Querist) 04 March 2017
Dear Members
We are currently working in ecommerce business. We got some photoshoots done, but someone has copied those images and started selling his own product.
Can we take any action, as the same is impacting our business
(Expert) 04 March 2017
Seems to be an academic query.
However, please provide information on what is the name of your website, for what product photo-shoots were made and which of the photos (with links) some other party is using?
Ms.Usha Kapoor
(Expert) 05 March 2017
pLEASE ANSWER THE QUERY RAISED BY DHINGRSA jI.
Abhishek jain
(Querist) 05 March 2017
Thanku sir for replying to my query.
I am selling on websites like flipkart, snapdeal etc. The photoshoots are for products like jeans, tshirts etc.
We uploaded the images first, however the person downloaded/copied the images, photoshoped it and re-uploaded it with his own beand name.
After this incident we have applied for copyright of those images as well, but copyright office will take time to register it as a process. In the meanwhile we are losing a lot of business because of that copying of image
The link are below
https://m.snapdeal.com/product/denim-cafe-denim-blue-stretchable/1056338178#bcrumbSearch:jeans|bcrumbLabelId:194
Sir can we take any action against his illegal usage of image.
Please guide.
Many thanks
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 05 March 2017
Find out their address and send legal notice.
(Expert) 05 March 2017
Agreed with Madam RK Goyal
(Expert) 05 March 2017
If products are already branded, you cannot get copyright for those products. Any franchise of the company supposed to sell those products can use the photos of such products for the purpose of selling the products.
However, if products are your own creations, you can get copyright for the same. But before copyright is granted, you will have to prove that the products are your own creations, photoshoots were taken from your site as already availableon your site before the other party copied and used.
Abhishek jain
(Querist) 06 March 2017
Thank you sirs. We have got confirmation from studios that these pics were clicked by them.
Also, can you please recommend anyone from your faternity who can assist me with sending legal notice to them.
(Expert) 06 March 2017
No recommendation. You will have to contact some lawyer at local level.
(Expert) 06 March 2017
You Could Contact Madam Rajendra K Goyal by Sending her Private Message She might be from your Place .She is a Very Excellent Dynamic Advocate