Inspection of records by giving power of attorney under rti act 2005
Mrs R.Yadav
(Querist) 09 November 2014
I sought inspection of records by filing an RTI application . I gave authority letter to my husband to inspect the record but CPIO refused to get the record inspected by my authorized representative on the pretext that there is no provision in RTI Act that an authorized representative can insepect the record on behalf of the applicant. My question is
1.If I give power of attorney to my husband to inspect the record, will it be valid ?
2.Will CPIO have any authority to deny to inspect the record if I give power of attorney to my husband to inspect the record ?
Kindly advise me.
Mrs R. Yadav
(Expert) 09 November 2014
Repeated query.
Mrs R.Yadav
(Querist) 09 November 2014
Dear Adv Dhingra Ji,
It is not repeated query sir. Previously I had sought whether an authorized person by applicant can inspect the record . Now I have sought whether after taking power of attorney , my husband can inspect record on my behalf ?
Mrs R yadav
(Expert) 09 November 2014
What is the difference between your previous and the present questions, except a bit of twist in the style of question? Previously you stated that you gave authority letter to your husband to inspect the record on your behalf, which was denied by the CPIO, now also you wanted to seek the same information by asking, "whether after taking power of attorney, my husband can inspect record on my behalf."
The result will be the same.
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 10 November 2014
Repeated query:
http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Inspection-of-records-by-an-authorized-representative-of-the-applicant-under-rti-act-2005-506321.asp
ajay sethi
repeated query
R.K Nanda
consult local lawyer.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate
(Expert) 14 November 2014
Read the law governing the act fully and thoroughly to understand the provisions which forbids you from going ahead.