mental harassment at work place

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 05 May 2010 This query is : Resolved 
I am a Central Government employee, working in a State-PWD Division, for the affaire of the State. My post is a Central Post, in the State-PWD Division, and my whole career in future will be in the State PWD Divisions. My salaries, allowances & other perks are drawn from the Consolidated Fund of the State. My posting is transferable, every three years. The head of office of the State-PWD Division, namely Executive-Engineer, is my Controlling-Officer, who writes my ACR, and is also my DDO (Drawing cum Disbursing Officer) w.r.t. my Pay,allowances & other perks.

The office of Accountant General, Haryana,is my parent office, and the Sr. DAG(Works) of that office is my appointing and administrative authority.

Now my problem:
I joined the current Division-office on 14-7-2008, and took charge of the Accounts Branch of that office. My office consisits of three branches, namely 'C' branch headed by a Deputy Superintendent, Accounts Branch headed by a Divisioanl Accounts Officer, and Drawing Branch headed by a Head Draftsman. Since the day of my joining,and till date, no Deputy Superintendent has been posted in our office, except once from Nov. 2008 to 30-4-2009 during which period the Deputy Supdtt. (DS, in short) remained on leave priro to retirement on 30-4-2009.
On the pretext of non-availability of a DS, and being a seniormost officer in the Division (as given in books), I have been asked to oversee the works of 'C' branch also, particularly Court-cases, Disciplinary-cases, etc. I have given in writing to my office-head, that such works relate to DS and not to me, but in vain.

Since there is staff-shortage in my branch, and Division also, I am already overloaded with the works of my branch, as ver often i have to do initial-works, usually done by subordinates. The additional work of other branches, has further increased my work, and very often i am neither able to give proper attention to those works, nor could dispose them off in time.
Also, i am being asked to go on tours to Head-office and to Circle-office in connection with the works of the other branch ('C' branch). Such tours are avoidable, but have to be undertaken due to the practice of requiring a "well conversant officer/official" to personally pursue matters in the Head-office/Circle-office, instead of disposing-of the matter on the basis of information made available to them. If any information is further required, they could ask for it in writing. But, in the name of urgency or otherwise, a "well conversant officer/official" is directed to attend Head-office/Circle-office to personally pursue matters. Since last Nov., i have been on such tours very often, and in Feb. and March this year, I had been away from home for nearly a month due to such tours. This is causing financial hardships to me and my family. Also, i'm unable to devote much time to my family and my child.

In view of above, kindly advise me what to do, and whether, any complaint of harassment would be justifiable in the eyes of law? Will the law be able to support me and provide solace from the grievance?
R.R. KRISHNAA (Expert) 05 May 2010
Sometimes due to lack of staff in an organization one employee may be overloaded with more work.

I understand that it causes you stress and strain.

I suggest you to directly approach your headoffice (Executive Engineer)who is your controlling officer and explain him the troubles you face and request him to do the needful to help you come out of stress. Secondly you may ask/request him to assign or delegate the works to other employees so that your workload is lessened.

Don't opt for court/case as it may hamper your relationships with your superiors.

Best of luck. TAKE CARE..