Pay fixation for movement from nationalized bank to central government department
Ankur Gupta
(Querist) 14 April 2012
I am working in a nationalized bank as scale II officer drawing basic pay of Rs.22500/-.
I have applied for post of inspector of Central Excise through proper channel.
Please guide me whether my basic pay in bank will be protected under FR 22, if I move to my new job.
Ankur Gupta.

(Expert) 14 April 2012
You have not mentioned the pay scale of any of the two posts, or whether the new post involves duties of higher, lower or equal responsibility. However, on selection to the new post, your pay would be regulated under the provisions of FR 22 read with FR 30, as the case may be. FR 22 deals with fixation of pay only, but has wide applications and applies differently in different circumstances depending upon the case falling within the provisions the provisions of FR 22(I) to FR 22(IV).
Ankur Gupta
(Querist) 15 April 2012
New post will be having pay band of Rs.9300- Rs.34800 (with Grade Pay of Rs.4600/-). But I dont know whether Inspector of Central Excise involves duties of higher, lower or equal responsibility in comparison to Scale II officer in a nationalised bank.
So please guide me sir.

(Expert) 15 April 2012
In that case, when no comparative figures are available, how you can be advised about pay fixation. When you applied for the post, did not you see the pay scale of the post in the ad against which you apply?
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 15 April 2012
I do agree with Dhingra ji and suggest you to put complete facts to enable the experts to come to your query.
Ankur Gupta
(Querist) 16 April 2012
Sir, I present the facts again here under:
I am presently working in Bank of India as Manager in Scale II, drawing basic pay of Rs.22,500/-.
I have applied through proper channel for the post of Inspector of Central Excise through Staff Selection Commission. As per the advertisement, the post is classified as Central Civil Services (CCA) Rules, 1965 and Initial scale of pay of the new post will be Rs.9300/- with a grade pay of Rs.4600/-.
So please guide me if I am selected for the new post as mentioned above, whether my present basic pay of Rs.22500/- will be protected or not? Also advise me whether pay protection rules are applicable while movement from nationalised bank to central government.
Moreover I really do not know whether post of Inspector of central excise carry higher responsibilities in comparison to the post of Scale II officer in a nationalised bank.

(Expert) 16 April 2012
Naturally, the post of inspector involves lower responsibilities than the post of a manager. Your pay can be protected by grant of personal pay up to the extent that the same should not exceed the maximum of the pay scale of the new post. The personal pay would however be absorbed in future increments in the new scale. In other words, you may not be able to enjoy increase in pay for the next some years in the new post till the inremental stages do not cross your basic pay plus the personal pay.
Ankur Gupta
(Querist) 17 April 2012
Sir, thanks for your guidance.
Please also let me know whether rules of pay protection are applicable from movement from a nationalized bank to central government job and under which reference.
Ankur Gupta
(Querist) 01 December 2012
Dhingra g...
I have got offer letter from Central Excise. I have written a letter by Regd. Post to them regarding pay protection. However they have not replied as of now. On talking to them over phone, they said that your pay will not be protected and also stated that reply to your letter will not be given.
Sir, I sincerely request you to please guide me how to proceed further sothat my basic pay may get protected by grant of personal pay.
Eagerly awaiting for your response.
Ankur Gupta

(Expert) 01 December 2012
Dear Ankur,
Your piecemean queries may not provide you a viable solution without detailed examination of your case related documents. You can however fight with the authorities for the fixation case only fter joining the new organisation. No Government office can defy rules and Government orders/instructions. You can, if you like, send complete details at; dcgroup1962@gmail.com
Ankur Gupta
(Querist) 01 December 2012
I have sent the complete details of my case to the email ID provided by you. Pls help.
Ankur Gupta