purchase of agricultural land by a non agriculturist
RAVISHANKAR.M
(Querist) 31 May 2010
My question is whether a businessmen like me can buy agricultural lands in Karnataka inspite of not being an agriculturist.
I would like to state that, my mother had agri lands in her name and the same was sold about 8-9 years back. I have the copies of RTC, katha, mutation register copy etc till date.
Can I go ahead with these documents and I can produce the family tree wherein it can determined that, I am a part of her family as her second son.
Pl give me your valid suggestions about the above matter at the earliest.
Thanks & Regards,
RAVISHANKAR.M
ayush1ravi@yahoo.co.in
B K Raghavendra Rao
(Expert) 06 June 2010
Unless you are an agriculturist or an agricultural labourer with annual income of less than Rs. 2 lakhs, you cannot purchase an agricultural land. However, since you say your mother was holding agricultural land, it needs to be seen whether she was an agriculturist or the land was gifted to her etc. before deciding whether you are eligible to purchase agri land.
RAVISHANKAR.M
(Querist) 07 June 2010
let me inform you that, my mother purchased the said agricultural lands on her own and it was not inherited or gifted property to her.
Once, she purchased a small bit of land, she purchased further lands to an extent of 9 acres and at a later date (after 10 years) the said lands were sold.
Is this information is sufficient for you to guide me whether I am eligible to purchase any agri land in my name.
Hope you will reply soon.
Thanks & regards,
RAVISHANKAR.M
BLR