Master the Basics of Legal Drafting in All Courts. Register Now!

Settlement of dowry case

(Querist) 20 March 2013 This query is : Resolved 
HI Sir,

We have filed Dowry harassment and maintenance case against Brother in law which is in the verge of getting settled as the respondents have agreed to pay us sum of 4 Lakh which we are OK with.

Our Advocate is asking us settle Dowry cases by March 26 ( posted for hearing on March 26) , maintenance case as he is already got the amount from respondents and he would give the amount when we provide evidence for mutual consent Divorce which would take another 6 months. meantime for our assurance he would give a 6 months post dated check for same value.

So, kindly request to advise the correct way to proceed as we believe we do not have to settle the Dowry case and maintenance case until we get the full amount in our hand. Also our advocate is claiming that we need to file for mutual consent Divorce.
Kindly suggest what we have to do as we asked our Advocate that we are ready to settle the Dowry and maintenance case when we are paid the full amount and are also ready to sign if they file for mutual consent Divorce case.

Warm Regards,
Sarab
ajay sethi (Expert) 20 March 2013
why should respondents part with money unless all cases are settled . if Rs 4 lakhs is paid what is the guarentee that you will agree for MCD and not back out
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 20 March 2013
Take money in instalments and withdraw the cases accordingly. Since there are more than one case, you need not worry.