Transfer of property from father to son
maroof lakdawala
(Querist) 08 October 2013
Hi All
My father expired in 2008.He purchased a landshorp and a land with sheds in mumbai in 1990,which was solely on his name at the time of death. He prepare will on my name.
My mother and me are ready to transfer above landshorp and land with sheds mentioned on my name.
Please could you guide me, irrevocable procedure for that.
Do i have to pay stamp duty and carry out registration. what would be stamp duty and registration cost,what document required and how it will go on to transfer on my name
Nadeem Qureshi
(Expert) 08 October 2013
Dear Maroof'
contact a lawyer in your local area, it will be better for best advise
ajay sethi
(Expert) 08 October 2013
obtain probate of will . land in mumbai must be worth in crores . dont take a chance .
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 08 October 2013
Contact a senior lawyer. Get the will probated and get the land transfer as per probated will. Your mother can gift her share to you. Stamp duty on gift deed would be as per stamp act.
Akhilesh Kumar
(Expert) 08 October 2013
If you are sole legal heir of your father then you need only succession certificate and it will be transfer to your name.A nominal charges for registration will require to pay in case of property transfer from Father to son as legal heir.