vehicle ceased with illegal liquor
vicky
(Querist) 07 March 2017
Dear Sir/Madam
I had sell my truck to someone. I had handover to him by making a affidavit of sell. The vehicle is still on my name. Now that person is caught with illegal liquor by police in badmer city rajasthan .
The police came to me as name & address on RC is mine and tell about the situation.
Kindly guide me how to face the situation.
Vicky
Madhava Rao Gorrepati
(Expert) 08 March 2017
don't worry. you have not committed any offence. vehicle is a movable article, governed by the sale of goods act. RC is only a statutory requirement. since you have already sold away the vehicle you are not more responsible. Show the receipt passed by the buyer. if the man is caught with illicit liquor transport he himself is responsible. To avoid responsibility he may even throw blame on you. don't be panic. you are neither liable in criminal action or in civil action.
Ms.Usha Kapoor
(Expert) 09 March 2017
You are not at all responsible for the vehicle seized with illicit liquor. You as vendor can show the purchase receipt/invoice passed by buyer in -proof of his purchase of truck and your sale..Don't worry.
Adv. Yogen Kakade
(Expert) 09 March 2017
Register your statement at the police station with all the facts. Do not worry.
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 09 March 2017
You can give your statement to police accordingly. If police move to book you, defend yourself on merits.