What is subponena
RAMJI
(Querist) 25 November 2013
Dear experts
In a maintenance case filed by wife, cross exam is going on... last time husb showed copy of proof of employment of wife( letter from concerned employer) but wife denied it and said unemployed....
with this background, Kindly clarify the following:
1. Can husb file SUBPOENA to call the employer thro court as witness to court and prove employment of wife?
2. Basically what is subpoena? and in which sec of Act /manual it is defined ?
3. Is there any standard format available for applying subpoena? if so pls tell reference and if any procedure pls
any other views pls
ramji
Devajyoti Barman
(Expert) 26 November 2013
1.yes, it is called summons not subpoena.
2.refer to above.
3.consult your lawyer.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate
What is the basis for the husband to state that she is employed?, if he has any documentary proof to that, he may fle a petition before the court u/s 91 Cr. P.c. to produce the documents to prove the case.
Rajendra K Goyal
Agree with the expert Devajyoti Barman ji, nothing more to add.
prabhakar singh
Read section 174 of I.P.C and stop coining terms unknown to Indian laws.
Raj Kumar Makkad
No more to add after reading the replies of the experts.
RAMJI
(Querist) 26 November 2013
Dear Experts Thanks for all round view...
Dear Prabhkar singh sir
I looked at Sec 174 IPC, the word "subpoena" is used in this section... thanks for your advise...
Thanks to Rajkumar sir & others
ramji