Rajesh arya
(Querist) 18 December 2011
Dear All
I worked in a private ltd. construction company. They misuse my PAN No.in their TDS return for Assessment Year - 2008-09. They shows diff. payment appx. to Rs. 9.90 lac as per 26 AS Tax Credit Statement. Due to this I have received a series of notices from time to time from Income tax deptt.and i am continuously replying their all notices that I have never received any single paisa from my last employer as shown in 26 AS Statement in account of Contracting Business. For this i had already submit my copy of income tax return,all Bank A/c Statements and also a avidafit about the same. But Still I.Tax Deptt. Saying that Its your responsibility to prove that you are innocence. Go to your last employer and get a letter from them that they had never gives you these type of payments. Telephonically, I talked to my last employer , he is not ready to gives me any this type of letter.
So please guide me further rights which i have to prove me innocence. as also i am working with a new firm outside NCR so it is not possible for me to take leaves for various time.
Please Someone help .....
For any further info. Anyone can give me a call on 9711800217.
soumitra basu
(Expert) 18 December 2011
Issue a legal notice to your previous employer asking you either to revise the TDS return or to give the money which have shown in the statement. Moreover, you may write that you shall inform to the income tax department that they have shown false expenses in the name of yours and request the authority to take appropriate action by reopening their case.
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 18 December 2011
The suggestion of Income tax department is accurate in the given circumstances. If required, you should avail the service of a local lawyer for the issuance of a legal notice and to initiate further legal action.
(Expert) 19 December 2011
Just check if you had withdrawn any amount on behalf of the company from the bank on the basis of bearer cheques issued by the company in your personal name any time during that peroiod?
prabhakar singh
(Expert) 19 December 2011
i agree with experts.
Trouble Logging in? Try following the given steps -
1. Visit your inbox to find a confirmation mail from LAWyersClubIndia.
2. Click on the confirmation link and confirm your signup