gratuity

(Querist) 29 December 2015 This query is : Resolved 
I would like know the maximum amount of gratuity the employer is required to pay as per rule?
Isaac Gabriel (Expert) 31 December 2015
Vague query.The ceiling is Rs.1000000 lakhs at present.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 01 January 2016
You have not posted what is the employer: Govt, private etc.

You have also not posted the Gratuity Rules that apply e.g. Payment of Gratuity Act.

Generically speaking: The tax free amounts is Rs.10Lacs and above it amount shall be subjected to tax treatment.
H.S.ACHARYA (Querist) 02 January 2016
Dear Mr. Kumar Doab,

Thanks for the reply. Employer is a private sector Organisation and employee is covered under Payment of Gratuity Act. My query is whether it is mandatory for the employer to pay more than the tax exempted limit of 10 lakhs when gratuity amount works out to 17 lakhs.

Dear Mr.Isaac Gabriel,

Thanks for providing the information.
Dear Mr.Isaac Gabriel,

Thanks for providing the information.
Guest (Expert) 02 January 2016
Mr. Acharya,

Instead of posting repeated academic queries better explain your real problem with appropriate background of the case. If you don't have any such problem in reality, there is no use of wastage of time, as opinion of experts can vary in negative or positive aspects that may confuse you.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 02 January 2016
NO reply to repeated and academic queries
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 06 January 2016
No reply to academic query.