Attestation of power of attorney by witnesses is compulsory or not
vinod bansal
(Querist) 15 December 2011
R/Experts
I want to know whether power of attorney for filing civil suit is mandatory/compulsory to be attested by witnesses,kindly suggest.Thanks
Devajyoti Barman
(Expert) 16 December 2011
It is not mandatory.
POA is nothing but a document of authority. A letter of authority may also serve such purpose which does not require any attestation.
Sailesh Kumar Shah
in case of POA, sign of witnesses is mandatory.
V R SHROFF
Vinod,
As you want to file a civil suit for someone else.
One cannot file civil suit by authority letter.
Attestation on your POA is Mandatory.
Caution: POA holder cannot depose! [SC]
vinod bansal
(Querist) 16 December 2011
Kindly suggest in view of judgment of Sc in case Jugari singh vs jaswant singh and K.A. Pradeep vs Branch Manager Date of Judgment 27/07/07 of Kerala Highcourt in which it was held that attestation by witnesses is not necessary in given facts of the case.Thanks for your prompt response to all R/Experts
Raj Kumar Makkad
Bansal G! when you know law, why to waste time of experts?
DEFENSE ADVOCATE.-firmaction@g
Questioners are becoming smart but still does not help.
The citation is for particular case.
There are many limitations for filing case by donee of POA which depends on each situation.

Agree with experts.
vinod bansal
(Querist) 16 December 2011
With due respect Makkad Ji
After pasting this query ,i came to know above citation,i was just sharing the same with all of you experts for your further opinion,i know very well value of time of every Expert members,i never intends to waste time of anybody,however if you feel bad ,i say sorry for the same...rgds
Advocate. Arunagiri
It is nice to hear from Mr.Bansal had started knowing law. I appreciate his interest.
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 17 December 2011
Mr. Bansal himself is a senior lawyer at Jind so he knows everything about his own 'brothers'.
Mr. Bansla sorry for my words which might have pinched you. I am always ready to help any person and you are my brother so how can I feel bad of you.
Advocate. Arunagiri
My comments passed on Mr.Bansal, without knowing the fact that he is a lawyer.
prabhakar singh
As you know by the judgments cited by you that there can not be a single answer in respect of every fact but if one do not want these points arguable attestation would always be a better choice always;else you already know in circumstances it may be oral also and play of 85Evidence Act is also well known to you.
prabhakar singh
As you know by the judgments cited by you that there can not be a single answer in respect of every fact but if one do not want these points arguable, attestation would always be a better choice ;else you already know in circumstances, it may be oral also and play of 85 Evidence Act is also well known to you.
prabhakar singh
As you know by the judgments cited by you that there can not be a single answer in respect of every fact but if one do not want these points arguable, attestation would always be a better choice ;else you already know in circumstances, it may be oral also and play of 85 Evidence Act is also well known to you.
Dayananda Gowda
The power of attorney to represent the case is not mandatory. It is only authority to represent the case.