Anonymous   12 September 2018 at 17:18

Tax liabilities of society/trust for religious activity

A well settled Hindu family of over 11 generations from West Bengal engages internally in an annual religious festival for 240+ years. Over the years, as the family grew, the finances passed down from previous generations got distributed and at present were derived from interest incomes on normal fixed deposit accounts distributed among several family members so as not to affect individual tax liabilities(A mutual agreement). Due to the complexities of present time and involvement of a lot of members, the arrangement has proved extremely unmanageable to maintain with the required integrity by the current generation leading to various disagreements and problems diluting the actual intentions.

A motion was proposed among the stake holders to liquidate the existing distributed arrangement and form a centralized arrangement for effectively managing and sourcing funds. The income of this setup will be through internal contributions/donations among the family members and interest income from that. What options are available for the stake holders to legally operate only for the said religious purpose and what tax liabilities will be imposed.

Surendra   04 September 2018 at 16:10

Applicability of gst

Query on GST:
What GST would be charged – CGST + SGST or IGST, in following scenarios:

Person having immovable property – registered in Maharashtra, having place of business in Maharashtra.
Location of the immovable property – Karnataka
Person who has taken the property on rent – registered in Maharashtra, having place of business in Maharashtra.

Person having immovable property – registered in Maharashtra, having place of business in Maharashtra.
Location of the immovable property – Karnataka
Person who has taken the property on rent – registered in Karnataka, having place of business in Karnataka.

Partha Chattopadhyay   04 September 2018 at 08:48

Capital Gains when there is no gain

Sold an ancestral house at the market price with no loss no gains concept. Whether zeo Capital Gains under ITR2 is to be recorded?

shine   01 September 2018 at 10:40

Income tax notice 143(2)

SIR, WE ARE THE REGISTERED TRUST. WE ARE SUBMITTING THE INCOME TAX RETURN FOR THE FINANCIAL YEAR 2016- 17 , ASSESSMENT YEAR 2017-18, ON 31.10.2017, (ONE MONTH EXTENSION FOR SUBMIT), WE ARE GETTING A NOTICE FROM THE INCOME TAX OFFICE (ASSISTANT OFFICER) UNDER SECTION 143(2) FOR SCRUTINY(NOTICE DATE: 10.08.2018,WE RECEIVED ON 18/08/2018), OUR NATIVE PLACE IS KERALA, DUE TO THE RECENT HEAVY FLOOD, WE LOST ALL THE DOCUMENTS ON THAT, FOR THIS GRIEVANCE WE WROTE THE LETTER AND SEND IT THROUGH REGISTER POST TO THE ASSISTANT OFFICER INCOME TAX DEPARTMENT, NOW WHAT WE DO NOW? IS THIS NOTICE ELIGIBLE FOR US OR NOT, PLEASE PLEASE CLARIFY OUR QUERY THROUGH E-MAIL. THANK YOU

Anonymous   26 August 2018 at 14:18

Last date of it return having i.t refund a.y.-2018-19

Sir One of my client has TDS A.Y.-2018-19 and his Income is below 250000/-. can he file IT Return A.Y.-2018-19 after 31.08.2018 and claim refund ?

Anonymous   25 August 2018 at 18:33

Capital gain tax on sale of gifted land

R (aged 71) has a vacant plot measuring 2400 ft in West Chennai which was purchased in 1975.
N (79) his elder brother has a residential property of 2600 sft with built up area of about 1500 sft in East Chennai. It was purchased in 1974 and 50% of the property was settled in favour of his wife L in 2015. They want to demolish the house and construct apartment building there.
Now, if R executes a gift deed of his vacant plot to N and afterwards N sells it and reinvests the proceeds for construction of 4 flats in the premises jointly owned by N and L what will be the implications of Capital Gain Tax for N.
Whether N will get exemption of the construction cost of all the 4 flats or for one flat only?
Whether Settlement deed is preferable to Gift Deed?
What will be the obligations of R as donor under IT Act?
What are the other charges /expenses that may be involved?

Anonymous   20 August 2018 at 20:09

Tds payment for under construction resale property

Buyer1 booked the flat in Aug 2016 for 58 lacs from builder in Bangalore (he has sale agreement b/n him and builder),
Now flat is ready for registration and buyer1 sold the flat to buyer2 (i.e. me) for 64 lacs (I have sale agreement b/n me and buyer1, I also have Nomination Agreement where buyer1 transferred all his rights of Flat to buyer2 (i.e me), all three parties signed)

1) Buyer1 paid 46 lacs to builder already.
Buyer1 had already paid TDS of Rs.51K (i.e. 1% of 51 lacs, No TDS for 7 lacs GST)
(In Form 26QB, He mentioned seller as Builder and buyer as Buyer1)
2) Buyer2 will pay 12 lacs to builder
3) Buyer2 will pay 52 lacs to buyer1
My question is,
1) Whether one more Form 26QB should be filled in name of Builder (As Seller) and Me (As Buyer) for the amount Rs.51K?
2) Whether another Form 26QB should be filled in name of Buyer1 (As Seller) and Me (As Buyer) for the amount Rs.64K?
3) Both of above should be done?
4) Or any other ways which accurately covers TDS for both sale considerations i.e. i) b/n buyer1 & builder and ii) b/n buyer1 and buyer2 (i.e.me)
Requesting you for support. Thanks.

RAJESH CHOPRA   20 August 2018 at 03:28

Sale of inherited property via gift deed

Sir
After the demise of my mother in law in 2012 my father in law took consent of his 3 daughters via relinquishment deed ( as father in law was the joint owner with my mother in law in the property bought in 1986) and constructed 4 floors in Nov 2013 with help of builder and gifted one floor each to his 3 daughter's keeping one floor with him.

My wife was also the beneficiary of one floor via gift deed dated 1st Oct 2014 . In May 2018 my wife sold her floor at a consideration due to financial requirements . Kindly advise if the proceeds are taxable as per law since the property was inherited.

If yes at what rate it will be taxed & is there way to save tax .

also while calculating tax will she get indexation benefit.

Anonymous   11 August 2018 at 22:59

ITRV rejected

I filedmy IT return on 24/6/18 and same day I e verified it. My e verification was successful and was accepted on 27/6/18. I received my assessment order and refund by email on 3/8/18 .Order and refund date was 28/7/18.But on 7/8/18 I got mail saying that my ITR V is rejected , reason -Poor quality. I was surprised to receive the mail because my return is processed and refund is credited to my bank account. I enquired with my tax consultant ,he said ,he had also sent ITR V to Bangalore as general practice , Now that ITR V has been rejected on 23/7/18 and mail has been sent on 7/8/18 ,
Now since ITR V rejection mail is sent 4 days after ITR processed mail ,So now my ITR status is -" ITRV rejected", instead of "ITR processed" .. Now what should I do? Please advise

Meera   10 August 2018 at 08:01

B.Allb

Hlo Sir ... now a days I am pursuing b.ALlb from Agra university.i want to do practicing in taxation plz could uh tell me can I do training of taxation bcoz now I�m under in Ist year of B.Allb