Can a pwd registered civil contractor register as consultant

(Querist) 02 March 2012 This query is : Resolved 
I am Civil Engineering Graduate, I have 15 years of Experience in Construction field both in execution and design. I am Registered as PWD Class 1 civil contractor for 7 years, can i register in the same department as Consulting Engineer.
adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (Expert) 02 March 2012
contractor is different and consultant is different. If there is provision then you can register in the same dept.
Guest (Expert) 02 March 2012
The job of a contrctor differs entirely from the job of a consultant (consulting Engineer).

A contractor is primarily a technical resource brought in to practically perform or accomplish the task of a particular project or provide a set technical expertise. The role of a contractor is very directed and limited to a particular implementation or application.

A consultant's job, on the other hand, is more or less advisory and strategic in nature to facilitate strategic vision for a given project, as aimed towards technical development or implementation, but desired to be implemented by some other person/ contractor.

You become a contractor only when some particular project is assigned to you by award on competitive bidding. Registration with the PWD merely denotes that you are registered on the panel of a particular category of contractors who can be considered for award of a contract ONLY when you submit a competitive tender for a particular work, as and when open tenders are floated.

So, your position as a consulting engineer can on regular basis, while you become a contractor for some specific project only when a contract is actually awarded to you.
Deepak Nair (Expert) 02 March 2012
The advise by Dhingra Sir is well and sifficient to satisfy the querist.

But you need to find out with the concerned authority whether there is any restriction to that effect.

@ Dhingra Sir,
Thanks a lot for throwing light on the same.
You are welcome Deepak ji.

There is no need for the querist, Mr. Prithviraj, to ask the authorities about any restriction or bar over his working as a consultant in addion to getting contracts. The panel of contractors is well known to the authorities and it is their own headache, not that of the consultant, to know about the eligibility of the incumbent for the position of a consultant. Moreover, a consultant's job is also a contractual job, not an appointment as a regular employee in a Government organisation.

However, the only reservation required on his own part is that he should desist from rendering any formal advice in his personal contract case or that of any of his relatives, as a contractor.
SAINATH DEVALLA (Expert) 02 March 2012
Dear Mr.Prithviraj,

I feel you have too many ambitions.The other day you posted a query whether a registered contractor can contest as an MLA.Today you are saying that you want to register as a consulting engineer in the same department,where you are a contractor.Can you ride on two different boats going in different directions at the same time? Kindly post your answer.
Prithviraj (Querist) 02 March 2012
No offense, A monkey does spend its all its life on a single tree,it jumps one tree to other to satisfy its needs, same way i have to look for different thinks in life.
Thank u sir
Dear Prithviraj,

Example of a monkey, as advanced by you, does not seem to fit in view of the observation made by Shri Sainath. A monkey does not try to jump on more than one tree at a time.

Agreed, there is no offence in chosing different career opportunities at a time, but steady advancement is always better as compared to hectic adventurous activites simultaneously, as are prone to mismanagement sometimes go out of control.
SAINATH DEVALLA (Expert) 03 March 2012
Dear Mr.Prithviraj,
My reply was not to harm your ambitions,you have every right to choose your career.