Dual pension
Rajesh Tandon
(Querist) 01 October 2012
(e) Proof of pension not been received from public sector undertakings-we have got a unique case where an ex-servicemen who was working with the factory and was getting double pension i.e from Army as well as factory also has died and leaving behind his aged wife who is nearing 80 years and keeping in bad health. However, now, the family pension claim for wife is stuck of from Army authorities because of a requirement of a certificate from the concerned factory that she's not receiving the pension, since it has been learnt that she will be authorised only one pension unlike her husband, who was authorised double pension. However, the factory has got closed.
(i) Pension Querry1-In such a case of who is supposed to give the certificate. Is it the ordnance factory board controlling all Army factories supposed to give the certificate to meet the requirement of pension from Army authorities or
(ii) Is it the requirement of certificate of not receiving pension can be done away with on the basis of a certificate from ordnance factory board that such a factory has got closed.
(iii) Are the any latest judgement, whereby a pensioners wife is also entitled for double pension, like that of ESM when employed in public sector undertakings. If that be so, kindly provide information about that.
Rajesh Tandon
(Querist) 01 October 2012
Sorry, I could not understand the abreviation DDO. Please clarify.

(Expert) 01 October 2012
DDO stands for Drawing & Disbursing Officer.
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate
(Expert) 02 October 2012
if the queriest does not understand what DDO is then it is difficult to understand if he is emoployed in Govt.
Rajesh Tandon
(Querist) 02 October 2012
My thanks to Mr Dhingra. As far as Mr Sudhir Kumars comment is concerned imust say,"Mr Sudhir Kumar, it is not necessary that every body is familiar with abbreviations. Incidently i am an army officer,in government service .We in army generally use abbreviations in our all correspondence, but we make sure that when corresponding with civil, we donot use abbreviations as civilian officials may not be familiar with army abbreviations rather than ridiculing the civil officials. These are basic courtsies & mannerism we are tought. I definately donot appreciate the manner in which you have ridiculed my querry. I have been always thankful to Lawyer club of india where experts have put me wise on so many accounts on my querries.Till date no body has ridiculed me in this manner. I can assure any body if i start using army abbreviations in civil parlence, lot of experts may not be able to understand the same. Incidently Indian army officer is also a central government employee.Therefore i can also ridicule an expert's professionalism & put him on mat within two minutes easily & that is the easiest thing to do. Lets not get into this kind of Practice. If one feels irritated by a querry,or is in habbit of making sarcastic comment, might as well do not reply, there are others to reply.
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate
(Expert) 02 October 2012
This is a forum giving free advise on charitable basis. We are solving your problems out of our previous time and electricity.
Please read CCS(Pension) Rules so that your query is resolved.
Rajesh Tandon
Thx for sparing your precious time & rendering advice. Regards.

(Expert) 02 October 2012
Dear Sudhir,
With reference to your post, "if the queriest does not understand what DDO is then it is difficult to understand if he is emoployed in Govt," I would like to differ with your observation, as it is not necessary that every central Government employee would be knowing the full form of DDO. The term DDO is known mostly to the Accounts & Finance wing employees, or those who are used to deal with matters DDOs.
Most of the employees are laymen, who know only the commonly & often used abbreviation of "AO" for the terms of Accounts Officer or pay & Accounts Officer (PAO). Of course many employees term them separately as Drawing Officer or Disbursing Officer, but in full form.
Rajesh Tandon
Mr Dhingra. Thank you very much for your mature & sensible way of dealing with the post. It's indeed a great pleasure not only to me but many more like me to have experts like you on board with lawyer's club of India. I appreciate your varied exposure & well structured responses.

(Expert) 02 October 2012
Dear Shri Rajesh ji,
Thanks for your compliments.
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate
(Expert) 02 October 2012
term DDO is know even to the school teachers and to everyone who either deals with accouts matter (may be belonging to any service) or drawing wages through any DDO. This terms is at times not know to employees of PSU and Autonomous bodies.
Many person who are civilians and dealing with service matters of Army officer /PBOR, in order to justify their wages do understand the service rules (incuding abbreviations) of Armed fiorces persons (though not applicable to them.

(Expert) 02 October 2012
Dear Sudhir,
If you conduct a survey in your own department on this issue, even that would give you the true results as to how many employees know the term of DDO.