Difference in work for same cadre in central govt staffs
sembaianathan.k
(Querist) 14 October 2011
Iam a staff nurse working for Jipmer.Recently there is a change in number of night shifts from the existing 5 days to 7 days based on number of years of experience among the same cadre staff nurse.
New Old
1-5 years experience 7 night (5days)
6-10 6 5
11-15 5 5
15-20 4 4
Are they legally eligible to increase duty and decrease duty for a group belonging to same pay band and same category. Juniors are being targeted without any prior information. What should I do?
Kindly guide me.
Thanks in advance
R.Ramachandran
(Expert) 14 October 2011
Dear Sembaianathan,
There is nothing wrong in the arrangement. If you put in more service, you will also get the same benefit of lesser night duty days. The reverse arrangement would be absurd. Similarly, putting every body equally for night duty will also not be desireable. Please do not try to question everything. They are not putting different duty hours to the persons with same number of years of experience. You can definitely have a point to complain, if some persons with 1-5 years are given less night duties while persons with similar 1-5 years are made to work for more night duties. That is not happening here. Therefore, you should not have a grouse.

(Expert) 14 October 2011
Dear Sambaianathan,
Besides the advice of Expert, Shri Ramachandran, you should also not forget the provisions of a very important service rule (FR 11), which clearly provides that the whole time of a Government servant is at the disposal of the Government, which pays him and he may be employed in any manner required by proper authority, without claim for additional remuneration.
Although, discrimination amongst equals can be a cause of resentment, but still the said rule provides proper authority to the controlling authorities to take official work from the employee in whatever manner they like.
prabhakar singh
(Expert) 14 October 2011
Nothing bad in law has happened that we make it a case of complaint.
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 14 October 2011
I do agree with Ramachandran and Dhingra ji.
Sri Vijayan.A
(Expert) 16 October 2011
My views are same as that of Sri.Ramachandran