Legal heir certificate - formalities for obtaining
pundalika achyuta bhat
(Querist) 06 March 2012
my name is pundalika achyuta bhat living at dombivli ( east ). my mother expired some five years ago. she had left one bank account (sb a/c ) and share certificate of RIL company with 20 shares. on approaching RIL company, their share transfer agent, have asked me to provide with legal heir certificate.
my elder sister, younger brother and myself are the only surviving legal heirs of my late mother. besides one of my elder sister who expired some 7 years ago, is having a daughter, who is now married.
please guide me into the matter
Deepak Nair
(Expert) 06 March 2012
Approach a lawyer in your locality for professional help.
The legal heir certificate is issued by teh concerned revenue officer in your area (Tahsildar/collector as the case may be)
But, you have to obtain the order to that effect from the civil court by filing an application for the same. The court, after verifying the documents etc, will instruct the revenue officer to investigate further if necessary and to issue a legal heir certificates.
It is always better to obtain professional services of a lawyer in such cases, as this is never an easy thing for a common man.
(Expert) 06 March 2012
Though I agree with the procedure part with Ld. Nair. I see it as a simple process, if you are educated and can spare sometime, you yourself can get it done with minimal hassles.
ajay sethi
(Expert) 06 March 2012
since only 20 shares of reliance are involved request the company to transfer shares on execution of indeminty bond and noc from other legal heirs
Sankaranarayanan
(Expert) 06 March 2012
Yes I do agreed wirth mr sethi. Well said mr sethi sir. The legal heir certificate issuing power is under the revenue officer such asa thashildar or collector. Normally approch the court only for succession certificate. That also after accepting no objjection from those who all legal right on it. Better to approch local lawyer and seek advise and follow
adv. rajeev ( rajoo )
(Expert) 06 March 2012
File a probate and succession certificate in Civil Court and get the order. Except civil court no body has power to issue legal heir certificate.
pundalika achyuta bhat
(Querist) 07 March 2012
i thank one and all those who have given valuable suggestion on my queiry.
however on approaching kalyan civil court, i have been asked to submit MA ( i.e., Miscellaneous Application ) before the court for obtaining legal heir certificate.
again i request all of you, to provide me with specimen copy of prescribed MA, if it exists -or- format which might have been already used in earlier such cases and do the needful.