Getting FIR copy as accused

(Querist) 06 September 2016 This query is : Resolved 
Experts, I have come across several citations of HC of various states to provide FIR copy to accused in the initial stages of investigation. But the IO refused to do so. Kindly guide me how do I proceed.
J K Agrawal (Expert) 06 September 2016
The free copy of FIR given only when charge sheet is filed.

Before that you can file an application for certified copy of FIR to the police station or to the concerning First Class Magistrate. He will provide copy to you easily.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 07 September 2016
Agree with the expert J K Agrawal.
Hemant Agarwal (Expert) 08 September 2016
1. As per the recent ruling of SC, within 24 hours, the certified copy of FIR has to be uploaded on the dept., website and as well as a certified FIR copy to be provided to the accused.

2. Put the concerned IO on 7 days "legal notice" thru a seasoned lawyer, demanding a certified copy of the FIR and related documents.

3. IF the IO still refuses, THEN on getting summons from court, file WP in local HC, for quashing summons, on ground of legal default (failure of rule of law) & violation of constitutional right, as per the ruling of SC.

4. Much simpler, file RTI application to the Police dept., for obtaining certified copy of FIR, failing of which conduct point no. 3 (above).

Keep Smiling .... Hemant Agarwal
VISIT: http://www.maharashtra-society-help-forum.com
cherukuri prasad (Expert) 08 September 2016
simply file a copy application in the concerned court of the Police station or just file an application in RTI
cherukuri prasad (Expert) 08 September 2016
Recent supreme court guidelines are FIR should be kept online. Don't worry. things are getting good.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 25 September 2016
search whether copy is loaded online otherwise get a copy from court.
Anand purandare (Querist) 16 October 2016
Experts, thank you all for the advice. I need your help. I am not a lawyer but i want to know the details process and procedure to get bail. I am falsely accused in IPC 498a, 504, 506 and 114 and DP act 3/4. I think also the police are helping her and they have lodged the FIR after 15 months of the said incident (which actually did not happen). The IO has issued the notice almost after 90 days of lodging the FIR. Also can some one help me with the format of filing a writ petition against the police for denying FIR and other statement copy to me (accused). I have read and understood that the now the same is a constitutional right and denying the same definitely accounts to violation. My case is running in Gujarat.
Anand purandare (Querist) 16 October 2016
Experts, thank you all for the advice. I need your help. I am not a lawyer but i want to know the details process and procedure to get bail. I am falsely accused in IPC 498a, 504, 506 and 114 and DP act 3/4. I think also the police are helping her and they have lodged the FIR after 15 months of the said incident (which actually did not happen). The IO has issued the notice almost after 90 days of lodging the FIR. Also can some one help me with the format of filing a writ petition against the police for denying FIR and other statement copy to me (accused). I have read and understood that the now the same is a constitutional right and denying the same definitely accounts to violation. My case is running in Gujarat.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 17 October 2016
Other party has lodged the FIR, police is not supposed to support you. It has to investigate into the matter.

Your lawyer would advice for procedure for bail.

Your lawyer would take copy of FIR from court file.

If not arrested, try for anticipatory bail.