Pan card

(Querist) 17 May 2014 This query is : Resolved 

After marriage of a female is it required to change the surname on pan card. If yes what is the procedure. And if i do continue the surname (before marriage) and File ITR in that name what will be the consequences in that regards.

Kindly advice.
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 17 May 2014
change of surname in PAN Card is not required if has marriage registration certificate.
V R SHROFF (Expert) 17 May 2014
choice of wife.

you can change the name; if on all other records, or keep same name inclu PAN.

inform IT dept accordingly.
Sankaranarayanan (Expert) 17 May 2014
submit the relevant records and documents along with filled correction form to Income tax department
DEFENSE ADVOCATE.-firmaction@g (Expert) 17 May 2014
Either you should follow the laws completely or do not follow at all. In between is not allowed.

Changing the name of existing PANCARD is very tedious procedure.It has to be certified by a GAZETTED OFFICER.

So if you are filing ITR in the name of your wife or you are that person than you should first cancel earlier PANCARD and apply for fresh with new name of married status and keep records of both.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 17 May 2014
It is choice.

You can apply online for any change in the PAN card, pay the fee required, followed by forwarding of hard copy with documents.
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 18 May 2014
Get it changed as advised by experts
DEFENSE ADVOCATE.-firmaction@g (Expert) 18 May 2014
It is not allowed.

Those suggesting otherwise please give exact case where it is done on line.

Or even simpler method is let the person follow it and inform us whether it is possible for many many others to benefit.
P. Venu (Expert) 18 May 2014
It is not necessary, legally or otherwise, that a lady should change her surname after marriage.

After all, there are no laws in force as to name. It is all a matter of usage/personal choice.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 18 May 2014
I agree with expert Mr.Venu's opinion and views on the subject issue. There is no law in the country that a woman has to compulsorily change her maiden name after her marriage. Therefore what is in practice cannot become a rule, once there is no hard and fast rule about it, what is your concern about it?
R.V.RAO (Expert) 19 May 2014
agree with sri venu ji.