Suicide attempt

(Querist) 29 July 2012 This query is : Resolved 
My wife had been telling to me that she is having a feeling to attempt for suicide.And suddenly due to some minor family disturbance she "said" attempted for suicide.But in fact we found many pills were found scattered.We admitted her to a nearest hospital and got her treated.According to her before our marriage she once attempted for suicide when she was in college.
When I intimated her parents immediately,who stays 100 km away on NH and have a car but they did not turn up for 15 days to see her.Instead on next day my wife's brother came along with his father-in-law.I was very much tired as I had stayed awake all through night besides her, I told them to go back as they had come very late, to this he assaulted me at the hospital.
For the next 15 days I was wondered and shocked that her parents (my Father in law was DCIT)never turned up.During her stay in hospital a psychiatrist suggested for counseling.
After 15 days they came and just took their daughter and went.As I was unemployed and had two major head surgeries for hydro-cyphallus within a gap of one year.I requested them to allow her to saty along with kids for one year so that I can cope with my career. But after one week without any counseling they sent her back.As they found it risky.

Further she again threatened me that she would suicide few more times.Now I was worried and then I inquired about her suicide attempt in her college days, for this both the parents denied that such event has never occurred.
But till today my wife maintains that she had attempted for suicide during her college days.
Now what is the remedy for this.
Kindly guide me.

Sudhir Kumar, Advocate Online (Expert) 12 August 2012
What evidence do you have that you never demanded any dowry if she commits s successful suicide within 7 years iof marriage and dies without a statement?

You have to ready section 304B of IPC

[304B. Dowry death.—(1) Where the death of a woman is caused by any burns or bodily injury or occurs otherwise than under normal circumstances within seven years of her marriage and it is shown that soon before her death she was subjected to cruelty or har­assment by her husband or any relative of her husband for, or in connection with, any demand for dowry, such death shall be called “dowry death”, and such husband or relative shall be deemed to have caused her death.

Explanation

For the purpose of this sub-section, “dowry” shall have the same meaning as in section 2 of the Dowry Prohibition Act, 1961 (28 of 1961).

(2) Whoever commits dowry death shall be punished with imprison­ment for a term which shall not be less than seven years but which may extend to imprisonment for life.]

CLASSIFICATION OF OFFENCE

Punishment—Imprisonment of not less than 7 years but which may extend to imprisonment for life—Cognizable—Non-bailable—Triable by Court of Session—Non-compoundable.