Queries Participated

Mugdha   06 January 2020 at 11:11

My employer (school) deducted my salary without prior notice

Hello!
I have recently joined a school as a Counselor. During the interview, I was assured ₹35,000 per month salary. However, when it was time to receive my salary, I was informed by the accounts department that I will only receive ₹6,000+ (arrived after pf+pt deduction and my joining date 9th Dec 2019) since the school's policy is to deduct half the salary for the 1st two months and keep it as a deposit so as to prevent any teacher quitting without prior intimation.
Is this permitted as per labor laws? I have not received any documents from the school which inform me about the rules and policies. I have not even received my appointment letter, despite multiple follow ups.
I am planning to resign without serving any notice period, because:
- I have no documents informing me about the rules)
- What if I serve my notice period and they now withhold 2 months salary.
After resignation, I'll ask for my remaining salary but incase they still withhold it,
# What recourse can I take legally, if any?
# Will it be a long drawn, tedious process?

Mugdha   24 October 2019 at 09:07

Unable to access bank account since it's a trust account

I seek advice on the following:
My father had constructed a Kali temple in collaboration with a few other people in 2000. There was a trust committee formed which had 4-5 trustees. My father was the president for this committee. There was also a bank account opened in the name of this trust. The signing authorities of this bank account were my father and another person. The paperwork and bank account was managed by my father's accountant. My father passed away in 2016 and so it was decided that my mother would be appointed the president (since none of the trustees is now interested in managing or taking any responsibility). This was written and signed on plain paper (no stamp paper or anything).
Beginning of this year, the accountant handed over all paperwork stating he no longer wanted to manage this. Once we got the bank account papers, we realised that the bank account has been dormant since 2016. I submitted fresh KYC to activate the account but we still can't access the money coz the bank says that the other signatory is required and also since it's a trust account, the trust president-ship needs to be legally transferred to my mother and then she can access the account and the money.
My query is,
1. We want to dissolve the trust so that this problem does not arise again once my mother is no more. What is the procedure for dissolution?
2. How can we have access to the bank account money? It is needed for the repairs and maintenance of the temple and right now we're running short. Will the dissolution of the trust make it easy?

I hope I've provided enough information for you to guide me :) please do let me know if you need more information. Thank you!

Mugdha   14 July 2018 at 20:14

Gratuity denied

This is for my parents who were denied gratuity. They worked in a school as school principal (father) and senior teacher (mother) from 1993-2005. When they resigned, they asked for gratuity but were refused. I have a few questions in this regard:
1. Can they still seek this private school to give them their gratuity amount with interest?
2. If yes, what would be the process?
3. My father passed away in 2016, how should we proceed in his case?
Please guide me in this process.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you.
Mugdha Bhattacharya