Factory owner share the common electricity connection with tenants.

(Querist) 23 August 2015 This query is : Resolved 
Can a owner of a Factory share the common electricity connection with his tenants or is it required that he installs separate meters for each tenant?

Kindly guide me in this regard.

Thank You.
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 24 August 2015
There is no law as such governing this issue. It would depend upon the convenience of the parties.
Since factory meter is a commercial one so the residential use would also attract commercial rate and there may be confusion as regards share of contribution between landlord and tenant.
So better use separate meter.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 24 August 2015
Depends on the terms agreed between tenant and the landlord.
P. Venu (Expert) 24 August 2015
Is the tenanted premises also used for commercial purposes?
P. Venu (Expert) 24 August 2015
Is the tenanted premises also used for commercial purposes?
K.S.Srinivas (Expert) 25 August 2015
That depends upon the terms and conditions of the Utility which supplies electric power. Hence, go through the terms & conditions of supply of the Utility concerned.
Guest (Expert) 25 August 2015
Ms Shefali Shetty,

Is factory rented out to different factory owners as tenants to run different factories and whether you are also a tenant in that factory?
Shefali Shetty (Querist) 26 August 2015
Yes the factory is rented out for tenants and they run different factories. We are the building owner and we run our factory under the same building in a small portion.
I need clarification if the letting is required to get permission from MIDC?

Thank you
Shefali Shetty (Querist) 26 August 2015
Yes the factory is rented out for tenants and they run different factories. We are the building owner and we run our factory under the same building in a small portion.
I need clarification if the letting is required to get permission from MIDC?

Thank you
Guest (Expert) 26 August 2015
Ms. Shefali,

Your original question was about sharing of the common electricity connection with the tenants , you you have posed a new question about requirement of getting permission from MIDC for letting out of the factory premises to different tenants.

I think you are not sure what you want to know on your academic type of question, as both these issues have no common concern, as they fall within the domain of the two different authorities, the electricity board/company and the MIDC.