Procedure to apply for new school lc with changes in caste/sub-caste details
Roopesh
(Querist) 06 June 2015
I am 25 years old male belonging to Hindu Lingayat Sivsimpy caste which is also known as Simpi/Shimpi (as per a document issued by my community "ALL INDIA VEERASHAIVA LINGAYAT SAMAJ", a registered community association since 1980s)
Apart from School LC, neither I nor my parents possess any proof of our caste. Even if someone enquires our family members & relatives, everyone would answer that they belong to Lingayath Shivashimpi (Sivsimpy) sub-caste. But none seems to possess any documented copy stating that we belong to that caste.
Recently, I got a Letter signed by the Association's President stating that I belong to Shimpi caste which is also called by other names as Sivsimpy (as mentioned in the letter body).
But the main issue is with my School LC in which my father has mentioned Hindu Veerashaiva Lingayath as Caste without mentioning the Subcaste (error is from School authorities too as there is no subcaste column in the LC form).
Changes to be made in LC:
1. I want to include our sub-caste i.e. Sivsimpy (Shivashimpi)
2. Remove the word 'Veershaiva' as it's a culture which should ideally be omitted but my father made a mistake by including it.
Can you please help me by explaining the correct legal process to correct the errors & include the above said changes in the new School LC?
Kindly revert with a genuine & simple legal solution, sir.
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate
(Expert) 07 June 2015
which is the case you actually belong?
which is the caste entered in school record?
If same whether both nomenclatures entered in single /different Sl No in The Schedule?
If both caste are different then how a wrong caste was ever entered in the school record
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate
(Expert) 07 June 2015
repeated
http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/How-to-rectify-wrongly-mentioned-caste-name-in-school-lc--121976.asp#.VXRhUVKupVI
Roopesh
(Querist) 09 June 2015
Namaste Sudhir sir,
Thank you for the reply, sir!
Let me elaborate on my issue to you, sir.
The name of the caste as entered by my father during school admissions is Hindu Veerashaiva Lingayath but the name of our sub-caste i.e. SIVASIMPY/SIVSIMPY/SHIVA SHIMPI had not been entered in the School & Colleges LCs.
The reason being mis-interpretation of income limit restriction for availing reservation benefit during his times. Income limit clause (as per my understanding from the Gazette) is not applicable to employees of Group B & C serving or served in Central & State PSUs.
Moreover, my parents don't seem to possess any documents in support of our sub-caste Sivsimpy. In my father's service record too, he could have probably mentioned just the Main caste name i.e. Hindu Veerashaiva Lingayath & could have ignored sub-caste thinking that he is not eligible for reservation (my assumption as my father said no idea on his entry about caste details)
Now, he is a retiree & his annual income is less than 5 lakhs p.a. We genuinely belong to the above mentioned sub-caste, let any verification happen with our relatives & even distant relatives. We are sure of our sub-caste, sir. But by way of document, it is difficult to prove our claims.
Coming to the main issue, please suggest me an ideal solution to make changes to my school LC to include my sub-caste Sivsimpy, which comes under OBC in both State & Central List, so as to avail reservation benefits for education & jobs purpose.
Due to mis-interpretation of the reservation system by my father, this issue has arisen in my case, Sir.
Also, I have two elder sisters who are employed in Private sectors. Would I have to ask them to change their respective School LCs along with mine, to be on safer side for future caste verification processes.