Stamp duty on filling case of fraud

(Querist) 12 May 2014 This query is : Resolved 
Hello Sir,

I am from Maharashtra. I want to file case of fraud.

How the stamp duty for criminal and civil is calculated on this amount?

I have been told stamp duty is roughly 50,000 for criminal and 18,000 for civil for amount of 9 lac.

Could you please provide the related information or exact percent so that I can calculate it?

~
ajay sethi (Expert) 12 May 2014
check the bombay court fees act for court fees for filing civil case . your lawyer will guide you .
V R SHROFF (Expert) 12 May 2014
Court fees for Rs. 9L is
Rs. 22,430/- for Civil Suit.

Why pay any court fees for criminal proceedings???[ except nominal Rs. 10/-] Just Lodge Police Complaint for fraud. It amount to Economical Offence involving high value 9L.,
Sankaranarayanan (Expert) 12 May 2014
i do agree with shre shroff ji, it come under economical offence
Hushangabadkar S (Querist) 12 May 2014
Actually the lawyer to whom I consulted, told me that if I lodge police complaint for fraud then it may not be proactively taken and may get delayed.

So I am not able to decide what should be done in this case?
Guest (Expert) 12 May 2014
What type of fraud and how committed by whom?
Reply Q raised by Shri Dhingra , if u hv such doubts.
Fraud is like I was being trapped by one group showing as they are one cultured family. Father agreed for our marriage. Then intentionally they keep postponing my/my family meeting with their family. In between they taken money from me for reason of mother operation and then once brother accident and then some more times.
I thanks all of you sir for taking you valuable time in replying my queries.

If you provide your wise suggestion over this last post it would be really a great help for me to file the crime.

~
U MAY HV PROBLEM FOR EVIDENCE.to prove your claim.. [too foolish a act] u paid w/o going in detail, greed for money/ or wife? or both??? . u lost only money.

Fully planned crime..
and thousands of prey: grooms...
Bless God, they did not perform marriage with a poor girl, and filed 498A, DV, mtn & other cases immediately after it, !! cases happens. Boy looses 10L, pd to agent to get bride!!She run away in a week, !
I agree completely sir , I was lucky that I doubted and got out of this before they would have done her marriage with me.

I am really worried about huge amount I lost and got bankrupt, if I file police report for this crime would it be really not proactively worked?
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 12 May 2014
You may file police complaint, this is criminal act. It would be better approach.

You may engage an advocate after case is taken in court by police.

if police refuse to register a case, than may file complaint in the court through an advocate.

It seems the advocate is misguiding you in some aspects or you are informing wrongly, consult another lawyer.
Thanks a lot sir thats great help.

Once again thank you every everyone for this valuable information and taking time to reply my issue.

~
WHEN YOU GO TO POLICE FIRST TIME, THEY LISTEN, ASSURE, TO INVESTIGATE, AND ALSO INFORM GANG LEADERS.

Later you are warned, by Gang, Not to show ur face against, or will cost your life.; and also inform you, we operate such 500-1000 girls, also conduct their marriage with photo , with all hired parents, and , if anybody disturb our business, he will be no more, So so out of our area quickly..

They [ Gang ] are hand in Gloves with Police.

Try and confirm, and Let people know your personal experience...

Due to shortage of girls in MP, Rajasthan for last 12 years, The Gang started operating, and spread to Nasik, Whole Mah, AP, in very organised manner, having turnover of over 1000 Cr. p year.
GIRLS ONLY FOLLOW THEIR RING LEADER'S instructions,even till she deliver a baby!!
not a joke to fight against them..

BUT DO TRY, FOR YOUR SATISFACTION, AND TO WARN NEW GROOMS..It is business. False, Trapped Marriages..Agents get 5-10L per Marriage... all concerned share it.
Only rich needy Boys betn 24-35 yrs age are Victims. [P.S.: they get more money out of kidney, beware!!]
Guest (Expert) 13 May 2014
First try to get some solid proof of their fraudulent activities. Filing a case without any solid proff will definitely get bounced upon you and cost you very dearly.

If they deceived you they must have decieved others also. So, if possible try to trace any such other case against that family. Since the amount swindled away from you is huge (9 Lakhs), you may better hire services of some detective to get complete information about other cases of their frauds, contact other parties to know their modus operandi they adopted against them. File individual complaints by all such families, so that police may also be compelled to take action against such fraudulent persons.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 14 May 2014
Though anonymous query, the opinions by all experts seems to be very proper, let the author come out with his own details while posting his query here.