satish   08 January 2015

Eviction of an illegal tenant

I have rented a property to a butcher. The building is 40 years old. I have asked tenant to vacate on the basis that the building is old and need to be demolished. They have been staying there for 9 years and refuse to vacate since the rent and advance received by me is low compared to market standards. They went an extra step and have filed a permanent injunction suit against me saying, that I have forced to evict them with the help of goondas and threatend to face consequences if failed to evict (Although I haven't done anything, I am innocent). Now the case is with court and hearings go on and on every month. There is no rental agreement between me and the tenant. I even went for discussion with them and they are asking huge sum of money in lakhs, to evict. My lawyer says, they have to evict one day or the other, but law will take its own course of time, for years. The case is going on for a year..I have also served a legal termination notice for eviction.

Please let me know the next step to do?

What should I do?

Is there a better solution to remove the tenant quickly?

I undergo mental distress on this day by day, losing my peace, harmony and happiness?

I even ask god, why is that a bad guy always wins and put people like us to stress. Does justice prevail in this world and so on??

Hardeep (Business)     08 January 2015

1) many bad guys win because the good don't want to protest and get involved in troubles not their own. This is, btw, how Hitler could commit the Holocaust till  " finally " justice was served.

2) your lawyer is correct. You have to be patient . And claim for loss and damages if possible which your lawyer may advise you better on.

3) there is no point in loosing your peace of mind. Difficult to practice I know but what can not be cured must be endured. 

satish   08 January 2015

Hardeep, thank you for your suggestion & listening to me. Any help further would be much appreciated