Stolen mobile
umesh mishra
(Querist) 04 June 2014
Recently I lost my brand new mobile phone, which I hardly used for one week. Someone stole it from pocket in crowded Dadar market. I went to Shivaji Park police station and they registered a complaint and gave me a copy for obtaining new sim card.
I also gave them the IMEI number of the mobile, but they are not co-operating for finding the phone as they say it is not possible. If someone come and returns the phone, then they will call me. Their senior had lost one 32000 cost phone, but they could not find.
As I know if someone uses another sim card on same phone, then service provider can trace the phone. When I asked them the same, they said daily 10-15 mobile phone loss cases come. They can't do anything.
Please suggest what should I do. They are also not ready to file FIR.
Umesh Mishra
adv. rajeev ( rajoo )
(Expert) 04 June 2014
If the fone remained switched off then it is not possible to get it
Lawyer SALEEMA KABEER
(Expert) 04 June 2014
The complaints regarding stolen or lost properties are being given to police with a hope that they are capable to find out the same by conducting due investigation. It is one of the duty of police. So that they are designated as Investigation agency with enormous power.
No doubt, the police can not ignore the complaint on the reason that such kind complaints are routine one.
It may be a routine or valueless one for the police, but, not for an individual.
Therefore, you can send a complaint through Registered Post with A/D to the superior officer of Police about the inaction of them on your complaint.
You can also approach the Court for directing the police to take appropriate action.
Sankaranarayanan
(Expert) 04 June 2014
well advised by lawyer kabeer ji follow according ly
Kumar Doab
(Expert) 04 June 2014
The report that you have mentioned might be ‘Lost’ Report only that Suvidha Centre in each Police Station/Div. provided now a days by collecting fee.
You may lodge a complaint with SHO in writing under proper acknowledgment with complaint number, and ask to register the IMEI number for ‘Tracing’ the mobile…………………………………….
If anyone uses the mobile the police can provide the details.
You can persue thru RTI.
You can find out other ways to move the police…………….
Then you shall need to take police to capture………….the thief.
It is always better to insure the valuables.
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 04 June 2014
Well advised by experts hence no more to add.
umesh mishra
(Querist) 05 June 2014
Thanks a lot to all experts for right advise. I did not block the sim immediately, as next day the phone was ringing and I thought it would help police to track the location easily. But till date they could not trace the phone. Hence yesterday evening only I blocked the sim and got new sim card with same number.
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 05 June 2014
Block the sim, the police generally does not take initiation in such theft due to rush of work.
If it was insured, try to get the claim on the basis of police report and closing note from them.
ajay sethi
(Expert) 05 June 2014
make claim with insurance company based on police complaint lodged by you . police are generally reluctant to lodge FIR for such cases . if local police station refuses to lodge FIR lodge complaint with Commr of police
V R SHROFF
(Expert) 05 June 2014
fOLLOW AS SUGGESTED BY eXPERT Shri Sethi.
Indian Mobile Repairers are smarter than those who developed Safety devises. They immediately change it,
So Lakhs of Mobile Lost phones could neither be traced, nor recovered.
Practical solution is "Salute the art of thief" & pay for his smartness with courage and daring!!.
He is paid for your carelessness, and his smart act. ENJOY IY.. IT'S LIFE.
I LOST OFTEN, FILED FIR WITH POLICE, WHO PROMISED ME TO RECOVER, AND CONTINUE WITH HOPE TO RECOVER,
SO FORGET IT. IT IS INDIA,
I BELIEVE, MAXIMUM MOBILES ARE PICK POCKETED ONLY IN India.. [ Poor young boys!!, having no jobs, We created the situation. We have to bear it too]
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 05 June 2014
The practical aspect told by expert Sethi is proper these days as there is no solution to such problem.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate
(Expert) 07 June 2014
Practically it is not possible for police to trace out such lost articles, no doubt this is also their duty but generally it does not happens, instead on the basis of police complaint, you can claim insurance amount for loss of mob phone.
Lawyer SALEEMA KABEER
(Expert) 07 June 2014
With great respect to the above experts, I would like to record my further view in addition to my previous reply to this query, that we are here to make use of our laws which were enacted by us, as Indian Citizen, through our representatives.
If we failed to exercise our own laws to get our legal remedies, the basic principle of rule of law may be defeated.
At least, for the common cause and welfare of society, we have to take some steps to insist the authorities concerned to discharge their duties, whenever it requires, irrespective of value of property or status of person.
Modern technologies are there to do thing possible if there is a will or compulsion.
V R SHROFF
(Expert) 07 June 2014
Accept your theoretical views Saleema, but practically, considering situation at present, we advised you.
Ideal [ Adarshwadi] differ from Practical [ Yatharthwad]
And we Experts must try to help our Querist, whatever is best in his/her personal matter.
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 07 June 2014
Saleema! I do agree with you that the laws re mde for the welfare of the society and for the enforcement of Rule of Law and further we should try our best to make the law enforcement agencies accurate to their lawful duty.
This ideal concept is correct but unfortunately we are unable to do so for many reasons which cannot be discussed here for the paucity of time and approach.